A shift is needed…

nanowrimo-journal-2016

It’s been a long month.  On November 1st, 2016, I started to write the most challenging writing project I’ve ever tried.  I was worried that I wouldn’t have enough material to fill all 30 days, and I was partially right, but I worked it out.  50,000 words was the goal to complete the challenge of NaNoWriMo, but I don’t consider it a victory unless I am able to finish the novel.  I surpassed that goal, finished the novel, and even had some time to do a little editing.  Faithful readers of The Paradigm, I have written a novel in 30 days!

National Novel Writing Month was a huge challenge for me this year.  It was difficult, but I have achieved victory.

Struggles of a Modern Vampire may be finished, but it’s still only a vomit draft, it needs some tender loving care.  It needs a scalpel and come vodka.  It needs to be polished, shined, and reworked again before it’s a beautiful gem.  I’m not sure if I’ll ever give this novel any extra attention.  This may simply be a “learning curve” project that I’m going to file away.  But, who knows?  Maybe one day I’ll pull it out of its metaphorically dusty file folder on my computer and work on it some more.  Only time will tell.  It was a hard project just because of all the new things I tried with it, but I’m glad I made the attempt.  I feel like I’ve grown because of it.

I want to take a moment to thank God for giving me endurance for this year’s project.  I want to thank my family, friends, and my readers.  Thank you for all the encouragement, advice, and sticking with me to the end.

Here is this year’s winner’s certificate:

nanowrimo-winners-certificate-2016

I have a lot more ideas in my head for future writing projects I would like to work on.  I am still pursuing publication for Written in Silence.  I may start looking into small presses.  The future’s bright; lit with possibilities.

The Stats for Struggles of a Modern Vampire

Here are the final stats on my 2016 NaNoWriMo project:

Title: Struggles of a Modern Vampire

Genre: Urban Fantasy/Humor

Words: 69,828

Chapters: 33

Pages: 268 (that’s in Microsoft Word, double spaced, 12 point New Times Roman font)

What I learned this year: I learned that I’m not that great at writing urban fantasy or humor, honestly.  I also learned a lot about going out of my comfort zone.  I tried a genre I’ve never written before, about a subject matter I’ve never written before, and used more of a point of view I don’t normally use.  Overall, this whole project was new to me and a decent challenge.

I want to say thank you to everyone who stuck with me and encouraged me this month!  You rock at life!

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, A Man Who Wrote a Novel in 30 Days

Challenge Completed

Leave a Reply

