A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 29: Revision

nanowrimo-journal-2016

My word count hasn’t been going up a lot lately because I haven’t been adding new scenes.  I don’t really have anything I want to add just yet.  Maybe, if I rewrite and polish this story up, I’ll add more scenes, but for now, I’m content to just add more to what’s already written.  Revise what’s there, as it were.

I’ve been going over a few of the flashback scenes (which is where I wanted to focus my efforts for now) and adding details and information I had left out previously.  When I say that this first draft is a “vomit draft”, I mean it, it’s not pretty.  It’s awful, in fact.  I usually don’t have time to revise at all during NaNoWriMo, and it’s usually discouraged during the challenge because the focus is to get the words written down, not to make the words perfect.  However, because I finished earlier than I normally do, I figured I could work on some of the scenes I like and polish them up a bit and add more meat to the situations.

Tomorrow is the end of the challenge, and I will be validating my word count and getting my winner’s certificate.  I’m excited.  It’s been another successful and fun November.

Current word count for Struggles of a Modern Vampire: 69, 551/50,000!

Until the end of NaNoWriMo,

Andrew Ronzino, Editor

Leave a Reply

