A shift is needed…

nanowrimo-journal-2016

As a writer, there’s nothing more satisfying than typing the words “The End” after working hard on your novel.  Whether you’ve been writing the novel for four years, or 27 days, that moment when you include those two words is glorious.  You feel like you’ve accomplished something.  It doesn’t matter if it’s just the first draft, you feel like the thing you’ve been working on has been completed.  It may still need to be polished to a shine, but for now, it’s done.  You can sit back, drink a glass of wine, and breathe a deep sigh of relief.

I was able to do that earlier today.  For all intents and purposes, Struggles of a Modern Vampire has been completed.  I wrote “The End” today.

However, “The End” is not the end.  I still have three days left in NaNoWriMo and would I would like to spend them by adding a little more detail here and there in flashback scenes.  So, though the meat of the novel is done, I’m going to insert some more substance to what’s already written.

Tomorrow, I’ll share the final excerpt with you, and on the 30th, I’ll announce my official win of NaNoWriMo 2016.

Current word count for Struggles of a Modern Vampire: 69, 149/50,000!

Until the golden light is lit,

Andrew Ronzino, Frienemy

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 27: When Writing “The End” is Not The End" (2)

  1. Wow! Congrats to you for getting it done!

    If you need an editor to help you polish up that baby and make it shine, let me know :)

  2. Congrats on ‘The End’ that is not an ‘End, Beautiful Friend.’ I too have crossed that literary rubicon that is 50,000 words and yet, I have no end in sight. I do have a bag of diamonds, a non-princess to kidnap, a flare to set off and a fudge competition to sabotage. So, the end is at least in sight.

Leave a Reply

