A shift is needed…

nanowrimo-journal-2016

As I approach the halfway mark of NaNoWriMo, I find myself in a strange dilemma I’ve never dealt with before, I’m running out of story.  For the first time in my seven years of participating in NaNo, I’m running out of story to tell.  Today was day fourteen, and I’m about to start the climax.

So, what do I do now?  At the rate I’m going, I’ll be finished by day sixteen or seventeen.  I might have enough to stretch it a few more days, maybe.  Do I go back and pad the story out?  Do I finish this story and start a whole new story?

I feel like the story’s length, though not conducive for NaNo, is perfect.  I feel like if I pad it out, it would just fill it with unnecessary stuff and make it longer than it needs to be.  On the other hand, I can fill it with that stuff and see how it goes, I can always take it back out later if I need to.

Or, I could start on something completely new and fill the rest of NaNo with that, but I have no plans for something new at the moment.

I’ll stew on it for a while and we’ll see what happens.  I’ll keep you informed.

Current word count for Struggles of a Modern Vampire: 46,417/50,000!

Until the mole people take over,

Andrew Ronzino, Hamburger Man

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 14: What Do I Do?" (1)

  1. […] my post yesterday, I mentioned a small dilemma I’m having.  I asked for some advice on Facebook, and got good responses and tips from my OCGR Wrimo buddies. […]

Leave a Reply

