A shift is needed…

nanowrimo-journal-2016

Today, I got a lot of great writing done, and because of that, I hit the mark of 30,000 words!  I’m 3/5ths of the way to the goal of 50,000.

One of the best things about NaNoWriMo is not the writing itself, or the challenge, or even the crazy looks you get from people when you tell them what you’re doing, the best thing is the social aspect of it.  My first year of doing NaNoWriMo, I did it alone.  Well, not really, because my friend Elizabeth and I co-authored the novel together.  But what I mean is that I didn’t get involved with the NaNoWriMo community.  When I did get involved, I found the challenge to be a lot better because you have hundreds of other people in your area doing it with you.

The NaNo community (Wrimos) are amazing.  They’re supportive, encouraging, and helpful.  This year, I’m hosting a write-in, and today we had a high schooler from the area come for the first time.  He did NaNo last year, but didn’t get involved.  But this year, he wanted to check out what it was like to get invested in the more social aspect of NaNoWriMo.  After we were finished word warring for the night he came up to me and told me that he liked coming to a write-in so much better than just sitting at home and writing there.  Just a little bit ago, he messaged me on the NaNo site and thanked me for making it awesome for him, and that it felt good to be a part of the community.  It put a smile on my face.

If you do NaNoWriMo, but don’t get involved with your local Wrimos, I highly recommend checking it out.  It could make a difference, and even might make the challenge more enjoyable.

Current word count for Struggles of a Modern Vampire: 33,363/50,000!

Until I write again,

Andrew Ronzino, Commander of the Fireflies

Leave a Reply

