A shift is needed…

nanowrimo-journal-2016

Let’s get the awesome news out of the way, today I reached and surpassed 25,000 words!  That means I’m officially half of the way to the goal of 50,000 words for the NaNoWriMo challenge.

Today I voted.  I’m glad I live in a country where I have the freedom to choose who I want for President of the United States.  I voted for who I think is the best person for the job based on the issues.  We shall see tonight who wins the election.  Either way, I trust that God is in control.

My NaNo novel this year is not only an urban fantasy, it’s also a humor/satire story.  I’m using the setting to poke fun at some of the tropes of vampire stories.  Am I good at writing humor?  I’m not sure, I really don’t know.  My main character, Matt, is a sarcastic person, and he himself, is fed up with the stereotypes of vampires, which is funny because he is a vampire.

I don’t know if I’m good at writing humor.  There are parts of this story where I keep thinking, this is too serious, something funny needs to happen, but I just keep writing the scene, and it comes up serious.  But then I have other scenes where I keep thinking, this is just the right amount of funny.

So, parts of it are funny and other parts not so much.  This is just the first draft after all, I’m sure editing will play a part in making this a humorous story.   I’m sure I Am America (And So Can You!) wasn’t perfectly funny in its first draft.

Current word count for Struggles of a Modern Vampire: 27,019/50,000!

Until tomorrow brings more words,

Andrew Ronzino, Funny Guy?

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 8: I Voted, and That’s Funny…?" (2)

  1. Will Matt be a sparkly but brooding vampire teenager ala Twilight or a broody, 20-something character like Angel from Buffy the Vampire slayer? Either way, humor can be dark and wooden stakes are always good for sexual innuendo based humor!

    • Actually, no. He’s broody in the sense of that he’s poor, can’t catch a break, and doesn’t understand how a vampire is supposed to live with bills to pay. It’s been fun so far.

Leave a Reply

