A shift is needed…

nanowrimo-journal-2016

I have never thought I would write an urban fantasy.  In fact, I’m not a huge fan of urban fantasy in general.  Vampires often gross me out; it’s the whole drinking blood thing.  There are a few things in the genre I’ve liked through the years, like the Underworld movie series, and the Cirque du Freak (or The Saga of Darren Shan) series by Darren Shan.  I found those to be enjoyable.  But overall, urban fantasy just isn’t my thing.

However, when the idea for this story came to me, I just had to give it a try.  I was sitting at my computer working on something and it dawned on me that almost all the time when you see a vampire that isn’t an inhuman monster (like in the movie 30 Day of Night), they’re often depicted as either extremely wealthy, or have enough money that they don’t have to worry about their finances.

My thought was: why?  Why do you hardly ever see a vampire who’s struggling to get by?  Where does all their money come from?  Sure, some were already rich when they were turned, or had lands and titles.  And yes, some have lived so long that they’ve probably generated wealth in some capacity, but what about the new vampires, the ones just starting out?  Where to they get their money?  They can’t be out in the sun, they need to hunt and feed, so how can the afford to live in the world we live in today?

And Struggles of a Modern Vampire was born.  So far, it’s been fun developing the way my vampires work.  I’ve been enjoying it.  But the blood thing does still gross me out a little.

I like using NaNoWriMo to try different and new things, this way I’m not stuck doing the same thing I’m comfortable writing.  I like to stretch, grow, experiment, and learn.  It’s what makes writing an adventure for me.

Oh, and I hit 20,000 words today!

Current word count for Struggles of a Modern Vampire: 22,792/50,000!

Until I write again,

Andrew Ronzino, The Guy

P.S. Has anyone else noticed that in this year’s theme, the back of the spaceman’s suit is a typewriter with paper coming out of it, and that’s what forms the moon?  That’s so cool.

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 7: The Urban Fantasy Setting" (1)

  1. […] NaNo novel this year is not only an urban fantasy, it’s also a humor/satire story.  I’m using the setting to poke fun at some of the […]

Leave a Reply

