A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 5: Werp

nanowrimo-journal-2016

I love it when totally unexpected and unplanned things happen when you’re writing.  I had put together a loose timeline of events for my novel before NaNoWriMo started.  I left it loose so I would have room for the characters to do their own thing.  Sometimes you never know what’s going to happen.

In the scene I was writing today, my main character, Matt (whom I’ll be introducing formally to you all either tomorrow or the next day), and his friend Jordy, have been surrounded by vampires.  They want to question Matt about some strange killings that have taken place recently.  One of these vampires is named Werp.  I don’t know where that name came from, but I thought to myself, That’s a stupid name.  I decided to have some fun with this ascot wearing character.

Matt smacked Werp in the face.  Now, in the scene, the vampires are a threatening to drink Jordy’s blood, and Matt is trying to protect his friend, in the process of that, Matt learns Werp’s name, and decided, much like I did, that Werp is a stupid name.  So, Matt smacked him.

So far, in the scene (which isn’t finished yet, but I’m calling it for the day), Werp has been smacked four times.  Twice because his name is stupid, once to prove a point, and once because Matt didn’t want Werp touching him.  The other vampires think it’s funny that Werp keep getting smacked around by this guy they’re trying to intimidate.

It’s a fun, little, quirky thing that got added to the story, and I love it.

Werp is fun, I may keep him around a little bit to see what happens, I mean how could I not?  His name is Werp!

For all you writers doing NaNo this year, who’s your Werp?  Who just popped into your story and added a little bit of color to it?

Current word count for Struggles of a Modern Vampire: 16,601/50,000!

Until the next post,

Andrew Ronzino, Werp Smacker

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 5: Werp" (1)

  1. […] with you.  I’ve already shared a first one, so this is the second one.  This one features the previously mentioned Werp character.  This was the scene he was introduced in.  Again, just like with the first excerpt, please keep […]

Leave a Reply

