A shift is needed…

tfa_poster_wide_header-1536x864-959818851016

Last night, at 8:00 PM, I went to see Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens.

As a Star Wars fan since childhood, I’ve waited all my life to see the continuation of the story.  The prequels were fun (though some parts were terrible), but it didn’t answer the question, “What happened to Luke, Han, and Leia?”  Finally, that question has been answered.

I promised that there would be no spoilers, and I’ll honor that, but let me tell you how I felt about The Force Awakens without giving anything away.

It’s Star Wars. 

Let me clarify.  It feels like Star Wars…the original Star Wars.  I enjoy (most) of the prequels, but honestly, they don’t feel right.  they’re too…computerized and false most of the time.  It’s like New Coke compared to Coca-Cola Classic, sure it’s okay, but it’s just not the same.  The Force Awakens feels like the original trilogy does.  Yes, the tech to make the movie is better, but it has the same tone and vibe as the originals!  I was not only satisfied, I was happy with and blown away by how it turned out.

For the two hours, I sat there with my mouth hanging open, my eyes glued to the screen.  It was wonderful!  I was in awe of everything I was seeing and feeling.  It even made me cry…twice!  There’s parts of this movie that just tugged on my emotions.  AHHH!  I WISH I COULD TELL YOU!  I’ve never cried at a Star Wars movie before.  It felt real.  All the actors did great, and it was awesome to see the old cast mixing with the new cast.  I loved the direction it took.  I felt like it paid homage to A New Hope without directly coping it.  There were a lot of elements from A New Hope in there, but it was different enough for me to not care!

It left me numb with excitement, and all I want to do was discuss it with others who have seen it.  The movie had some great twists and turns that left me wanting more, and questions that I want answered.  I felt like a kid again while I was watching it.  And the trailers tell you nothing about the movie.

The Empire Strikes Back has always been my favorite Star Wars movie, with A New Hope coming in right behind it, but The Force Awakens may have just taken the Number Two slot.  I can’t wait to see it again, and YES, I will be seeing it again.

The Force will be with you…always.

Comments on: "The Force Awakens – A Spoiler-Free Review" (1)

  1. Well a Merry Christmas to you :) Love your review Andrew. Passionate even without revealing any details of the movie. I loved star wars too. Empire Strikes Back also being my favorite! Although I cant remember that many specifics, because there was a time in my life when I grew up too fast. Oh the innocence of childhood, right? I am so glad you enjoyed and now maybe I will go with my husband to see it. Your review has put a thirst to want to know more! Can you give me an outline to the story, which I could share my love to bring him up to speed???

Leave a Reply

