A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2015

On November 1st, 2015, I began a band new novel to write in only 30 days.  It’s been a long month, full of ups and downs.  I was worried there for a while that I wouldn’t succeed this year, but I pushed through, and I did it!  30 days have passed since I started, and now I’m finished!  Like every year, 50,000 was the number of words I needed to write to complete the challenge of NaNoWriMo, but I don’t consider it a victory unless I am able to finish the novel.  I passed that goal by a significant amount and was able to write “The End”!  Faithful readers of The Paradigm, I have written a novel in 30 days!

Challenge Completed

NaNoWriMo this year has been a complete, but difficult, victory!

The Priest of Tears is done, but it’s only a vomit draft, and I’ve written more words this year than any other year.  You can imagine that after speed writing a 90,000+ word novel in only 30 days that it’s not any good, and you’d be right, but that’s what editing is for.   It’s been a rough month.  My brain hurts.  It was hard, but I didn’t give up and I learned a lot about myself as a writer because of it.  I would like to thank God for giving me the strength to do this.  I also want to thank my family, friends, and my readers.  Thank you for all the encouragement and advice this year.

Here is this year’s winner’s certificate:

Print

With the start I had this year, and how unprepared I felt compared to the past years, I wasn’t sure how this novel was going to turn out.  I’m very happy with it.  I think it needs some surgery, but for a first draft, I’m very pleased with how it turned out.  I had a lot of unexpected things happen, but it ended up being a blast writing almost every scene.  There’s no more days left in November, so NaNoWriMo is over for me this year.  I have more writing projects I would like to work on, start, or finish this upcoming year, and I’m still working on finding an agent for Written in Silence.  Overall, I’m excited for what the future holds for my writing.

The Stats for The Priest of Tears

Here are the final stats on my 2015 NaNoWriMo project:

Title: The Priest of Tears

Genre: Fantasy

Kill Count: 243 people

Words: 92,327

Chapters: 39 (37 regular, 1 interlude, and 1 epilogue)

Pages: 342 (that’s in Microsoft Word, double spaced, 12 point New Times Roman font)

What I learned this year: That when you feel like giving up, or feel like you’re going to fail, that’s when you need to push harder.  You need to let the story write itself sometimes, and don’t be afraid of the unexpected.

To everyone who stuck with me though this month, thanks again!  You’re the best!

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, A Man Who Wrote a Novel in 30 Days

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 30: “The End”" (3)

  1. Congratulations! I’m proud of you for seeing it through to the end!

  2. You killed off 243 people? (Or people + animals.) I finished and left it uncertain whether anyone died at all. Even I wasn’t sure I could actually kill someone off. Apparently, I do not have the instincts of a psycho killer like some authors.

Leave a Reply

