A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2015

How do you end a story?!  No, seriously, how?

I love to write.  I love every aspect of writing.  I’m even one of those weirdos who like the editing process.  So far, I’ve written nine complete manuscripts, including my six NaNoWriMo projects.  Some are in their first draft still, where as others are well beyond that.  One of those was co-authored with my friend Lizzy.  You would think that after all that I’d know how to end a damn story, right?

lex-luthor-wrong

Some writers struggle with the beginning of their story, others with the middle, I struggle with the end.  I don’t mean the climax, I’m okay with that, I mean what happens after that, the wrap up.  I look at what I’m writing and think to myself, “I just beat Lord of the Rings for the most endings ever”…even though that’s probably not true.  Seriously, way too many endings.

Oh, I struggle through the beginning and middle as well, don’t get me wrong–

lex-luthor-wrong

Okay, enough of that.  I do struggle with those things like everyone else, but the endings is where I get stumped.  How do I wrap everything up?  How do I bring things to a nice conclusion.  I read novels by brilliant authors and when I reach the end I feel satisfied, unless it’s Mockingjay or Gatefather, those books had a very disappointing endings.  However, for the most part, I look at novels like The Amber Spyglass and think to myself, “how can I create a fantastic ending like that?”

I’m just not good at wrapping things up.  I really need to work on that.  In some of my work I’ve had to adjust the ending several times before I was happy with it.  I have a feeling I may have to do the same with this novel.  Now that The Priest of Tears had been dealt with, what do I do with Symon?  I know where I’d like to go with him, maybe set things up for possible series potential (without cliffhanging hooks that is), but how do I get him there?

The next few days of NaNoWriMo will be dealing with the wrap up and ending of the novel.  Let’s see how this goes.

If you’re a writer and you have any advice for ending novels, I’ll be happy to hear what you have to say.

Current word count for The Priest of Tears: 85,661/50,000!

Until the 28th,

Andrew Ronzino, Cut to Black

Leave a Reply

