A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2015

A lot of people have died in my novel this year.  A lot!

I’ve killed people in my stories before.  I’m no George R.R. Martin (everyone dies), but I’m not like C.S. Lewis either (hardly anyone dies).  I kill characters when they need to be killed.  I’ve even killed characters I didn’t want to kill.  Fiction authors have to make difficult decisions.  They have to decide who lives and who dies.

But my body count for The Priest of Tears is high for me!  The story isn’t finished yet and so far, as of tonight, 184 people have lost their lives.  Now, some authors might look at that number and be like, “Psh please, I kill that many people in my story before breakfast.”  Other authors might say, “Dude, you got issues!  Issues, man!”

People sometimes need to die for the story to continue and bring the characters to where they need to go.  As the Queen song put it, “the show must go on”.

So, in honor of those who have fallen, here is a list of people who lost their lives (fictionally) in my story:

  • A villager’s wife
  • 7 nameless guards
  • Mayor Ellyn Blayne
  • Beth Relayne (the fiancé of the main character)
  • Gazen Blayne (the mayor’s husband)
  • 17 villagers
  • 30 more guards
  • 1 rapist
  • 3 crazed drug addicts (who were most likely rapists as well)
  • 71 priests and priestesses, killed by the antagonist to keep his past a secret
  • 30 Fyldish monks
  • 1 informant
  • 1 dealer of information (masquerading as a bookshop keeper)
  • Bryson Faley (monster hunter)
  • 15 mercenaries in their guild hall
  • 1 small doorman (like midget small)
  • Zeth Mayzo (a mercenary with a fake Mythic Blade)
  • Sir Malvyn (a Crown Paladin)

The story is not yet over.  Maybe when I finish this novel and post my victory, I’ll include the final kill count.

Current word count for The Priest of Tears: 66,051,795/50,000!

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, The Grim Reaper

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 20: The Kill Count" (2)

  1. Yeah I’ve only needed to kill one of my characters somewhat unnecessarily but the death count is at 3 even though its YA Fiction. I feel like Poe killing ALL THE IMPORTANT PEOPLE MWAHAHAHHA

  2. […] now, those under his command are starting to drop like flies (yes, I have more names to add to my death count).  As he is becoming weaker, the Priest of Tears is growing stronger.  Symon reached a point […]

Leave a Reply

