A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 13: Names

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2015

One thing I’m struggling with this year is names.  It doesn’t seem like something that would normally be a problem, and normally I would agree with you.  But for some reason I’m having so much trouble thinking of names for people for this story!  This isn’t something I usually have an issue with either.

Not main characters, but all the side characters.  Names in the world I’m writing in this story favor “Y”s.  I have names like Symon DeMyn, Kaylon Daylyn, Wynston Maze, and so on.  But when I need to think of a name on the spot I go blank and have to sit there staring at the blinking word cursor for a bit until I think of something.  Like I said, normally names don’t give me trouble, so I’m sitting there for way too long, thinking, “Duh…what’s a good name?”

Towards the beginning of the challenge, I was trying to think of a name for my MC’s horse…and I just couldn’t do it.  I asked friends and people on Facebook for suggestions.  After a day and a half of thinking and sifting though suggestions, I chose Stormcloud (not one of the suggestions, but Storm was).  Now I’m stuck on another name.  He’s the leader of the primary religion of the world (he’s essentially the Pope), and I can’t think of a name for him.  Oh, I have his description, personality, and his title, but not his friggen name!  It’s been three days and I still have no name for him.  I went to some writing buddies of mine to see if they have ideas.  This is the longest I’ve ever gone being unable to think of a name for a character that needed one.

I’ll think of something.

Hopefully you’re better at naming people than I am.

Oh, and I hit 40,000 words today too.  Woot.

Current word count for The Priest of Tears: 41,566/50,000!

Until the next day,

Andrew…what’s my name again?

Leave a Reply

