A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 9: POV

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2015

 

An amazing author I recommend is Brandon Sanderson.  He’s written a lot of great books, and I admire his writing for several reasons, but one of the areas I think he excels is in point of view.  He has a way of really making you feel like you’re seeing the story from a certain person’s eyes based on their differing experiences.  When he switches the viewpoint character, you get the sense of a different personality.  Other authors do this like masters as well, George R.R. Martin for example.  Books with a lot of different characters needs to have well put together POV.

The Priest of Tears has only a single viewpoint, which is that of Symon.  I thought about adding another, maybe from a secondary character or from the point of view of the villain, but in the end, I decided against it.  My favorite style of writing is third person multiple POV, I use it a lot in my stories.  However, for this novel, I decided to just have Symon’s POV alone.  I believe that if I were to add even one more viewpoint character, it would take away from what is happening with Symon.  Since the story is ultimately about him, and based on how the story is going so far, I think I made a good choice.

Current word count for The Priest of Tears: 28,609/50,000!

Until the morrow,

Andrew Ronzino, A Bothan Who Did NOT Die to Bring the Rebels Information

Leave a Reply

