A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2015

 

Today I broke 20,000 words!  That’s right, 2/5ths of the way there.  Not bad for one week’s worth of work, if you ask me.  It just goes to show that when you want to, you can really get your butt into gear and write, write, write.  It only costs you all your free time, including the time you’d be using for social activities, hundreds of dollars in caffeinated beverages, and willing to have people yell at you if you’re on Facebook too much.  Worth it!

I’ve been asked why I participate in NaNoWriMo every year, especially when I can write at my own pace any other time.  The answer to that question is that I enjoy it.  Yes, it does suck that I don’t see my friends as much, and my need for chai rises to near toxic levels, but I love the thrill and pressure of writing a full length novel in such a short period of time.

But more than that, I enjoy the challenge.  I don’t use NaNo to work on previous manuscripts or ideas I already have written down that I’ll eventually do something with (I have so many files like that on my computer).  No, I go for something new each year.  Instead of waiting for a neat idea to hit me randomly and save it for next year, I love to spent the time to specifically plan out what I’m going to do for the month of November.  Sometimes I get an idea in mid July, other times, I get an idea in mid October…like this year.  I’m less prepared, but the novel I’m writing is a fresh new idea for me.

I love the challenge of creating a functional world with a real story happening in it.  I love developing characters that may go though extremely unexpected situations (at some point I’ll tell you about the drug house I added out of nowhere).  I love the opportunity the challenge gives me to expand and grow my craft as a writer, and gives me the chance to try new and different things.  I don’t want to be a “one trick pony” writer, where I can only do one or two genres or styles.  I want to be able to have a wide aspect of experience, and NaNo is perfect for that.

Why do I participate in NaNoWriMo?  Because I love writing, and NaNo opens up opportunities to explore different aspects of style, voice, character, point of view, plot, and prose.  I do it because I love telling stories and building worlds.

Current word count for The Priest of Tears: 22,864/50,000!

Until the next post,

Andrew Ronzino, A Lover of the Written Word

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 7: Why NaNoWriMo?" (2)

  1. So glad you love writing so much. Enjoy the process

Leave a Reply

