A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 5: Unplanned

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2015

This year, more than other years, I seem to have a lot of unplanned characters, scenes, and plot points that were never a part of the plan.  Most writers place themselves into one of two categories when it comes to NaNoWriMo:

Planners: People who plan out their stories in great detail, from start to finish.  They often have everything planned and set to go before NaNoWriMo starts.

Pantsers: People who fly by the seat of their pants.  They have no plan, really.  Sometimes they’ll have an idea of what they want to do, or the very basics of a plot, but for the most part, they just let the story write itself.

I don’t consider myself part of either group, though I do lean more towards Planner.  I consider myself a combination of the two groups:

Planster: People who combine planning and pantsing.  They have a plan, but are more than willing to let the story take itself in a different direction.

In previous years, I’ve had a random character show up and eventually become a main character in subsequent novels just because she demanded to be there.   I’ve have scenes come out of nowhere and turn things around.  One of the aspects of writing that I adore is the story’s ability to grow and change.

But this year, more than any other year, I’ve had a lot of unplanned things happened.  I could just stick with my timeline of events and say “no” to the story, OR I can go with the flow.  Personally, I think going with the flow is more fun.

What all this comes down to is: I have a lot of new and unexpected aspects adding themselves to The Priest of Tears every day…and I love where it’s going.

Current word count for The Priest of Tears: 17,000/50,000!

Until the morning sun rises,

Andrew Ronzino, The Master of Masters

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 5: Unplanned" (1)

  1. Well put! Stream of consciousness with the elements of “flying” is the best option.

Leave a Reply

