A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 28: Victory!

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2014

On November 1st, 2012, I began an adventure to write a novel in 30 days.  That one novel turn into three.  My last three NaNoWriMo victories have been devoted to one large story told over three novels.  On November 1st, 2014, I started the final installment of the story of a clockwork engineer named Saul Deus.  28 days have passed since then, and I have finished a steampunk trilogy!  50,000 was the number of words I needed to write to complete the challenge, and this year I passed that goal by a significant amount.  Faithful readers of The Paradigm, I have written a novel in under 30 days!

Challenge Completed

NaNoWriMo this year has been a complete victory!

True Automaton is finished, but it’s only a vomit draft.  There were a lot of humps I didn’t think I was going to make it over, and I learned a lot about myself as a writer because of it.  I would like to thank my family, friends, and my readers.  Thank you for all the encouragement and advice this year.

Here is this year’s winner’s certificate:

NaNoWriMo Winner's Certificate 2014

I’m very happy with this year’s NaNoWriMo project.  I strayed a bit from where I thought this story was going to go, and I had to make some tough decisions along the way, but it was a blast every step of it.  I really enjoyed writing it, though I will admit, it’ll be nice to move on to something different next year.  There are still a few days of NaNo remaining, and my journal will be continuing.  I’ll have the final excerpt for you to read, as well as Jim Kleverland’s character progression, so stay tuned for that.

The Stats for True Automaton

Here are the final stats on my 2014 NaNoWriMo project:

Title: True Automaton

Genre: Steampunk

Words: 83,395

Chapters: 35

Pages: 283 (that’s in Microsoft Word, double spaced, 12 point New Times Roman font)

What I learned this year: That you sometimes have to compromise to get to the desired ending.  Sometimes you don’t have to kill a character for there to be tragedy and loss in the story.  Even with tragedy and loss, you can still have a happy ending.

Again, I want to thank everyone who helped and encouraged me through this month, and to all my readers, thank you for sticking around.

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, A Guy Who Wrote a Novel in Under 30 Days

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 28: Victory!" (4)

  1. “Andrew Ronzino, A Guy Who Wrote a Novel in Under 30 Days” :) awesome! Congratulations

Leave a Reply

