A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2014

I have some great news…I REACHED 50,000 WORDS!

It’s the day after the halfway point of National Novel Writing Month, and I’m happy to say that today I beat the challenge.  Last year, I beat it in only fifteen days, as opposed to this year’s sixteen, but I’m not bothered by that at all.  I’m so excited!  I did it at DOKN (Day of Knockout Noveling), a NaNoWriMo event run by my region.  It was a blast.  Everyone cheered when I crossed the mark.  This is a great day!

Because it’s tradition, I’m going to tell you that the 50,000th word was: “Uhrwerkmann”, which is German for “clockwork man”.  The sentence containing the 50,000th word was: “‘I am to say when Uhrwerkmann kills, not you.'”  The context is that Saul tried to escape the German encampment he’s in, and in the process was stopped by Sam, who shoots the British POW that was with him.  He is then is ordered to shoot Saul, but because Sam knows Saul, he doesn’t do it.  Then the colonel in charge of the base yells at the man who gave the order to Sam.  The Germans call Sam “Uhrwerkmann“.  I feel like this is a very fitting 50,000th word, and with the story titled True Automaton, I think it’s great that it’s about Sam.

Now, even though I beat the challenge, I’m not finished yet.  I still have a story to complete.  When I do NaNoWriMo, my goal is to not only hit 50,000 words, but to finish the novel.  And so we go.

Current word count for True Automaton: 53,1050/50,000!

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, A Man Who Wrote A Novel In Under 30 Days

Leave a Reply

