A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2014

I feel like it’s been good news after good news this week, because I have more.  I hit another milestone today.  I’ve written 30,000 words!  3/5 of the way there in only ten days, not bad at all, in my opinion.  But it’s not done yet, there’s still a lot of story left to be told.

Today I wrote a very good scene (hence the title of this post).  The funny thing is that I didn’t like it at first.  I didn’t like where it was going, I didn’t like the POV it was in (Tanya’s), and I just didn’t think it was flowing.  But it was all minor doubts, not enough for me to scrap it altogether.  I said to myself, “Let’s see where this is going before I throw it away.”  I’m glad I stuck with it because it ended up being a great scene.  I won’t go into too much detail, but let’s just say it involved Tanya, Saul, and Xandria being told that Jill is being held captive in Germany, and them discussing how they were going to rescue her as the US government wasn’t going to do anything.

Even though the scene started off slow (something I can always fix post-NaNo if I think it needs it (it will)), I liked where it ended up.  My advice to writers: don’t just scrap a scene because of a slow start, stick with it for a while, and see where the characters take it.  If I had scrapped that scene and wrote it a different way, I don’t know if it would have ended the way it did.

Current word count for True Automaton: 30,354/50,000!

Until tomorrow night,

Andrew Ronzino, <Insert Fake Title Here>

Leave a Reply

