A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 5: WWJD?

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2014

One of my favorite characters from this steampunk trilogy is Jill Trueheart.  She’s a sixteen-year-old street rat that the protagonist, Saul Deus, has taken in as an apprentice in his profession of clockwork engineering.  What I like about her is that she literally has no filter.  She will do or say anything, not caring who was around to witness it.  She’s stubborn, she’s tough as nails, she’s fun, and she has a good heart.

However, there’s the fact that she’s too crass for her own good.  Her antics will be respected by some, and off putting to most.  Yet, somehow she seems to get away with it.  She has a charm all her own.  You know the old meme (before memes were a thing, that is), WWJD?, which stood for what would Jesus do?  It was supposed to spawn Christ-like behavior in people by thinking about how Jesus would act in their current situation.

Well, when it comes to WWJD?–what would Jill do?–it’s the opposite.  You don’t want to do what she does, or say what she would say.  Most people have limits, but Jill does not, she is the definition of “uncouth”, yet somehow is charming all the same.  So, what would Jill do?  Yeah, don’t do that.

But she is so much fun to write.  Every time I have a scene where Jill is in it, I know I’m going to have a blast writing it, because she’s not afraid to say what’s on her mind.  Sometimes even I, as the author, have no idea what Jill’s going to do next.  I just got done writing a huge scene with Jill and Saul having a heart to heart talk about something, and I enjoyed every moment I spent writing it.

She’s one of my favorite things about this novel.

Current word count for True Automaton: 15,047/50,000!

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, a C, a C-H, a C-H-R-I-S-T-I-A-N!

Leave a Reply

