A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 2: Xia

NaNoWriMo Jounrnal 2014

Normally on Sundays I go to church, but I was so exhausted from the last few days of work (and the start of NaNo) that I needed some good sleep.  So between sleeping in and that extra hour due to the fall back, I woke up feeling great.  Don’t judge me for missing church, every now and then you just need a day to sleep!

That meant that I could work on my novel in the morning and have friends over in the afternoon.  There’s a reason why I call NaNoWriMo “Hermit Month”, and that’s because my social life takes a dive in November.  But due to sleeping in and getting an early start, I was able to write then invite friends over.  Well, on Sundays, after church, I normally have some people over and we usually end up playing board games.  So we did just that, after I filled them in on how NaNo was coming along, of course.

We played Xia: Legends on a Drift System.

038

It’s a game I backed on Kickstarter over a year ago, and it arrived in mid October of this year.  Needless to say, I have not gotten sick of this sandbox, space adventure board game, even after playing it over a dozen times in just a few weeks.  It’s not available for retail just yet, but it should be soon.  When I first backed it, I wrote up something about it on The Paradigm.  If you’re interested in reading it, click here: Kickstarter Project Shoutout.  I also wrote up a proper review of the game after I got it, and posted it to BoardGameGeek.com, if you’d like to read that and know what Xia is all about, click here: A Backer’s Review of Xia: Legends of a Drift System.  The game is awesome!

What does this have to do with writing?  Nothing!  I just wanted to brag about this game.  It rocks.  It has instantly become one of my favorite games.  We played to 20 points today, and I ended up winning.  I was in a position to win the game by completing a mission, I was one space away from doing so.  But instead of going for the sure win on my turn, I decided to fly out and ram another ship to death, which was a risky move, earning me the final point needed for obtaining victory and ultimate fame!  It was fantastic!

Anyway, back to writing.  I ended up getting a decent chunk written today, so I’m happy to say that I’m ahead.

Current word count for True Automaton: 5,141/50,000!

Until we meet again,

Andrew Ronzino, Legendary Legend

 

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 2: Xia" (1)

  1. […] much today, was because a friend wanted me to come over and teach his wife and friend how to play Xia!  If I wasn’t ahead I would have said no, but because I’ve been doing so well, I gave […]

Leave a Reply

