A shift is needed…

NaNo Journal 2013 copy

It began on November 1st, an adventure to write a novel in 30 days.  27 days have passed, and what started as a the sequel to Deus Ex Machina has turned into the vomit draft of my second full length steampunk novel!  50,000 was the number of words I needed to hit, and I passed it by a large amount.  Readers of The Paradigm, I have written a novel in under 30 days!

This year’s NaNoWriMo ends with victory for me!

But no joy.

I’m happy that I’ve won, but just yesterday I got some really bad, life changing news that affects my entire family, news I’m not ready to talk about yet.  All of this has happened right before Thanksgiving and messed up all my plans.  So, at this moment, what normally would bring me much rejoicing, has been dulled to a mere “I did it.  Yay.”

Thanksgiving is tomorrow, and this afternoon God brought me to a scripture I need to stand on, Nehemiah 8:10:

“And Nehemiah continued, ‘Go and celebrate with a feast of rich foods and sweet drinks, and share gifts of food with people who have nothing prepared. This is a sacred day before our Lord. Don’t be dejected and sad, for the joy of the Lord is your strength!'”  (NLT)

I found no joy in finishing this novel, but I will find joy in the Lord and it will be my strength.

I want to say thank you to my family, friends, and my readers.  Thank you for all the encouragement, prayers, and well wishes.  Here is my winner’s certificate for this year:

NaNoWriMo Winner's Certificate 2013

The Stats for The Clockwork Heartbeat

Here are the final stats of my 2013 NaNoWriMo project:

Title: The Clockwork Heartbeat

Words: 72,906

Chapters: 30

Pages: 214 (that’s in Microsoft Word, double spaced, 12 point New Times Roman font)

Again, I want to thank everyone who encouraged me through this month.  To all my readers, thank you for hanging in there, and I’m sorry to end this on a sad note, but like I said, happiness is not something I’m feeling right now.

I will have a few more things to talk about related to the novel after Thanksgiving, so stay tuned for that.

Until tomorrow,

Andrew Ronzino, A Guy Who Wrote a Novel in Under 30 Days

Leave a Reply

