A shift is needed…

NaNo Journal 2013 copy

Well, it happened again, the story decided to do something I didn’t plan or expect.  But first, the good news, I reached 70,000 words!  That’s exciting!

Now back to that other bit.  Yes, my characters wanted to do their own thing again.  I was writing and the scene was just leading in that direction.  I could have said, “No, we’re not going there,” and halted what it was leading to, or I could have let go and let the story drive itself.  I let go.

Wedding bells will be ringing.  Out of the blue, Saul proposed to Xandria.  Now, I don’t mean that he, the character, out of the blue proposed without thinking about it.  It was me who was broadsided by this information.  I never intended for Saul and Xandria to become engaged, but that’s what the story wanted to do, and it worked for the scene.

So, there it is.  Saul and Xandria are now engaged.

Current word count for The Clockwork Heartbeat: 71,022/50,000!

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, The True Master of Disguise

Leave a Reply

