A shift is needed…

NaNo Journal 2013 copy

One of the things I absolutely love about writing is how unpredictable it can be.  When I developed the story for  The Clockwork Heartbeat I created a timeline of events, things I wanted to to happen in the story.  I use this timeline as a guide, but I try to allow the story to write itself.  I don’t want to be a slave to my timeline and only doing what it says, I want the story to grow and come alive.

That happened today, I was writing a scene that I had in my timeline, but it began to shift and change and become a much larger scene.  It had drama, danger, and some fun dialogue too.  It was a joy to write, and it came completely out of nowhere.

I sat there for fifteen minutes trying to think of reasons why I shouldn’t write these new scenes, but the more I thought about it, the more I knew that I needed to let the story write itself.  So, I let go and let it flow, and I feel like the chapter is ten times better than it would have been.  I think when you let the story write itself, it can sometimes make the story more exciting, and the characters more alive.

It’s fun when the world you’re creating becomes more than words on a page, it begins to breathe.   I love it.

Current word count for The Clockwork Heartbeat: 55,176/50,000!

Until we meet again,

Andrew Ronzino, Man of Tomorrow

 

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 18: A Random Scene" (1)

  1. Want. To. Read. This.

Leave a Reply

