A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 8: Deleted!

NaNo Journal 2013 copy

Today was one of the worst days I have ever experienced for NaNoWriMo.  Sit back and let me tell you the tale.  

I woke up early for work, and after I was ready to go, I had a few minutes before I had to walk out the door, so I decided to do a little work on the novel.  Unfortunately, tiredness was all over me and I accidentally deleted it.  Now, normally when I delete something, it goes to the recycle bin.  Knowing this, I opened it up and looked, and sure enough, the document I just deleted wasn’t there.  I permanently deleted my story.  It wasn’t a total loss, lucky for me, I had a backup copy on my flash drive, but it was from two days ago, and before the write-in last night.  If you remember yesterday’s post, I got a lot of good writing done at the write-in.  All of that was now gone.  I lost over 5,000 words of my story.  What made it worse was that within those 5,000 words were two really great scenes that I was very happy with.  Gone.  Just gone.  All I had was my memory of what I wrote, but not everything word for word. 

I felt ill for the first hour of work as I stressed over the fact that I had to write 5,000 extra words of yesterday’s work before even starting on my word count for today.  I prayed, and calmed down.  As soon as I could, I started to write everything I remembered from the scenes I already wrote.  They might not be as good this time around though.

The good news is…I did it.  I wrote those 5,000 words all over again, plus my daily count for today.  I thank God that I was as far ahead as I was, it created a pillow to fall back on, I didn’t have to write the 5,000 today, but stubbornness set in.  I’m sick of writing, actually sick of writing.  I never thought I would feel that way.  It’s that same stubbornness that’s keeping me from not writing this post.  I’m a cup half full kind of a person, so I’m grateful I didn’t lose the entire thing.  However, losing 5,000 words and having to make up for it sucks.  Granted, losing all of it would have been worse, but still…losing 5,000 words sucks!

Now for some more good news.  I reached 25,000 words!  I’m officially half way done with the challenge.  The bad news is…rewriting 5,000 words.  By technicality, if I had done all my writing today without losing anything, I would be at 30,000.  Oh well.  I learned my lesson…don’t delete my files, and always keep an updated backup.

Sorry for the harshness of this post.  I’m venting.  Hopefully tomorrow will be better.

Current word count for The Clockwork Heartbeat: 25,310/50,000!

Until I feel like writing again,

Andrew Ronzino, Too Written Out to Think of a Fancy Fake Title

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 8: Deleted!" (4)

  1. Glad you recovered and are ahead.

  2. My heart broke for you reading that you’d lost 5k words. Seriously, that was moment of silence worthy. Glad you’re back at it and haven’t let the loss sideline you. Blessings for the rest of your writing goals!

Leave a Reply

