A shift is needed…

NaNo Journal 2013 copy

This is my fourth year partaking in NaNoWriMo, but only my third year of getting involved in the community-wide activities that go on.  Even then I’ve only done the write-ins.  Today was the OCGR Wrimos’ Kickoff Party (they normally do it before NaNo starts, but they couldn’t work it out this year).  About 25+ Wrimos showed up to an Italian restaurant, ate some good food, chatted it up, and got to know some new people.  We played a few games, and had a raffle.  It was a lot of fun.

Then I went home and got back to writing.  I learned something today, writing a romantic dinner scene is hard.  Like very hard.  I almost gave up and scrapped the whole chapter.  My two main characters (whom I’ll go into detail about later) are out to eat when they finally (believe me, “finally” is the right word to use) admit that they love each other, and that scene was bloody difficult to write.  I finally (again, the right word to use) got through it.  I didn’t know how to write it in a way that made sense, so I kept working at it.  I think it turned out okay, but I’m sure when I look at it later on, it’ll need some major work.

Any other writers out there want to share their experiences with difficult scenes?

Current word count for The Clockwork Heartbeat: 9,605/50,000!

Until tomorrow,

Andrew Ronzino, A Dude Who Likes Italian Food

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 3: Kickoff and Love Scenes" (2)

  1. “You’re so… beautiful.”
    “It’s only because I’m so im love.”
    “No… it’s because I’m so in love with you!”

    Cut. Print. Publish. Best seller.

Leave a Reply

