A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 25: POV

I’m so close to the end I can taste it!  I don’t have much more to write, so I’m anticipating that I’ll be finished with the novel tomorrow, no promises though, there’s always the chance that I may write more.  But the end is near, of that I’m certain.

I would like to use this entry to discuss the point of view of Deus Ex Machina.  Like I’ve said before, I like to use NaNoWriMo as a way to challenge myself in my writing.  So, I try to do different things than normal.  This year, I tried a different sub-genre of science fiction that I don’t normally write, steampunk.  It’s been great so far, and I dare say I like writing it, and I’m going to keep trying it in the future.  Last year, I tried something different with point of view, but this year I went back to my favored POV for stories.

Personally, my favorite type of point of view is multiple third person, both to read and write.  I like the options that third person offers, especially when you can get more than one viewpoint character in.  Now, there’s a major difference between multiple third person, omniscient, and “head hopping”.  Head hopping is poor technique and can be quite confusing with random switches of viewpoint character with no rhyme or reason…within the same chapter.  However, when the viewpoint character is switched from time to time, and at the right moments (often at a chapter change or a good page break), it can be a fantastic POV.  And it remains my favorite POV to use, and the one I have chosen for this novel.

I considered using first person, and even third person limited (like I did last year with Written in Silence), but after much thought, I chose to go with multiple third person for this story.  I think it works best for it.

There are three viewpoint characters in Deus Ex Machina.  Saul is the protagonist, so he gets most of the novel to himself, however, from time to time, I switch it to either Xandria or Tanya to get their take on the events, or to show their feelings.  I think getting their view on things really adds to the story.

It’s been a growing experience even though it’s a POV I’m familiar with.  I’ve been finding it hard to decide when it’s necessary to switch between Saul, Xandria, and Tanya.  So far, I’ve been satisfied with the way it’s turned out.

Current word count for Deus Ex Machina: 62,511/50,000!

Until (hopefully) victory,

Andrew Ronzino, Batman

Leave a Reply

