A shift is needed…

Today was Black Friday and I had the day off of work, so it would seem like I had all day to write, but I also had planned a good, long RPG session with some friends, so I had to get my writing done early.  I wrote more than I intended to, and I was very happy with the results.  I had to write a very pivotal point of the story, the description of a True Automaton…or at least the shell of one.

It was a lot of fun to describe what a steampunk android looks like and how it could possibly function.  I had to throw in some rich detail that I’m not used to using.  Describing things in a steampunk setting is harder than it seems, at least with me.  Because, even though it’s sci-fi, one must present a believable world.  A world that, though it’s unrealistic by design, the reader can suspend their disbelief and get into the story.

Tomorrow I will need to finish out the scene and hopefully it will have a great impact on the end of the story.  I’ve been working on punching it up as of late, so I’m really excited to see how it turns out.

Current word count for Deus Ex Machina: 58,403/50,000!

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, Automaton Builder

Leave a Reply

