A shift is needed…

Before I began NaNoWriMo this year, I had a long timeline of events that I planned to follow for my novel.  So far, I have done that.  However, if you were to compare the timeline of events at the beginning of November to what I have written in the actual novel, you would find a lot of major differences (*Salutes* Major Differences…sorry, I had to).

Though I’m still using my timeline as a guide, I have strayed from it quite a bit.  I let the story take me where it wanted to go; it was flowing in a different direction than I planned on going, so I let it flow.  I let the story write itself.  Sometimes that’s the best thing you can do.  Let go, and stop being so controlling!  Let your characters help shape the story, you’d be surprised where it will end up.

I have been able to add so much to my novel by straying from the timeline of events for a while.  New characters formed, new groups, new settings, and new ideas.  Just the other night, I was ruminating on my novel, and a new idea came to me, an idea that fit perfectly and would punch up the ending!  It would actually help the story and give it a crackerjack new twist!  I was so excited.  Today I started writing that new bit of inspiration into the story, and it’s working out very well.  I’m please with it.  I haven’t finished with the new element yet, but I should be done adding it within the next day or two.

If you’re a writer, and you’re gripping too hard on your plans for your work, I suggest letting go a little.  I think it’s good to have plans, but there needs to be some wiggle room.  Sometimes your story just wants to go in a different direction, and if you force it to stay on the path you set up in advance, you may miss out on some treasures that your story wanted to dig up for you.  There’s my writing tip for the day.

Current word count for Deus Ex Machina: 56,114/50,000!

Until Thanksgiving,

Andrew Ronzino, General Knowledge

Leave a Reply

