A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 14: Word Wars

NaNoWriMo has a chat room that people can use during the challenge.  Last year I knew about it, but for some reason, it just didn’t work for me.  No matter what I tried, I couldn’t log on.  So, this year I tried it again, and I was happy to see that it worked!

I was planning on just checking out the chat room from time to time because I didn’t want the chat to distract me from my writing.  However, I was surprised to find that the chat room has helped me for two reason.  The first is the people; they’re kind and have been really good with encouragement as well as for general conversation that can spark inspiration.  The second reason are because of the word wars.

To put it simply, a word war is a mini challenge to see how many words one can write in their novels in a specified amount of time, usually ten to twenty minutes, though some have been longer or shorter.  These word wars often will cause the competitive side of me to come out so I try to get high numbers.  I’m a slow typer (though for a peck typer, I’m fast), so my numbers aren’t usually that great, but it’s not really about the numbers, it’s more about just getting stuff written.

These wars are often helpful because people will get on, start a war, and be able to reach milestones or meet their daily goals.  It’s been very helpful.  I have found that I have wasted very little time in the chat room, because most of the time, we’re warring!  It’s been fun.

Current word count for Deus Ex Machina: 43,258/50,000!

Until the next log,

Andrew Ronzino, A Word War Champion

Leave a Reply

