A shift is needed…

So far I have been doing really well with my NaNoWriMo novel this year.  I’ve been ahead since day one, I’ve been writing every day, and I haven’t hit any major writer’s block.  It’s been going really well.  Until today that is.

Nothing is wrong with me, the writing, the plot, or the development, in fact, that’s been going very well…almost too well.  You see, I’m running out of stuff to write.  I don’t mean writer’s block, I mean stuff to write for the novel.  I’m running out of story.

Before NaNo began, I wrote up a timeline of events that would be a guide for how I wanted the story to go.  I don’t strictly stand by it, I keep things loose so my story can flow properly.  However, I do use it as a guideline for what I want to happen.  It’s the steps to take to reach the end of the story.  The problem is that I’m running out of events!  The end is coming closer than I expected, and I’m no where near 50,000 words yet!

I’m a long winded writer.  I guess the way Ted Dekker told me he writes is kind of similar to how I write: long.  My stories (both NaNo and non-NaNo) usually end up being very long indeed.  Last year, I overshot the 50,000 word mark by 20,000 words, and that was following the timeline of events I had for it.  Nothing is wrong with that, I was happy to finish the novel in 30 days, even if it was longer than I expected it to be.  When I participate in NaNoWriMo, I write until the novel is finished, even if it’s longer than 50,000 words, which is every year so far.

This year, I’m doing the same thing, but my timeline of events is even longer than it was last year.  Before the start of NaNo, I thought to myself that I would be ending Deus Ex Machina around 70,000 words just like last year with Written in Silence.  But the way things are going, I may fall short of the 50,000 word goal.  I’ve been breezing through the timeline of events like crazy…and that’s even after I added a bunch of “on a whim” stuff to the story.

I’m not going to let this get to me, I just need to find a way to slow the pace down a bit without losing the forward momentum of the story.  Maybe I’ll look over my timeline of events and see if I can tweak anything.  I will reach 50,000!  I look at this as a way to grow as a writer.

Thanks for listening to me rant about writing problems.  If you any any suggestions, I would be happy to hear them.  Just write them in the comments section.

Current word count for Deus Ex Machina: 28,508/50,000!

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, a Long Winded Writer

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 9: Falling Short?" (8)

  1. Michael Haberlein said:

    You may simply need more plot. Does the end I’m your pre-write really have to be the end? Is there any way to make it a mere plot point? Men?

  2. MoreCoffeePlz said:

    This may sound totally counterproductive, but I took 2 days off, just to clear my head and finish other pressing writing projects. Now that I’m back to my novel, I’m not as anxious and I have a better idea of where I want my characters to go. Hope you figure it all out!

    (and i’m gonna follow your blog)

  3. I went to my friend’s site to see if I could find any good suggestions or tips… This looks the most helpful and insightful:

    http://thewritepractice.com/development-needed/

    A handful of things on this list might prove helpful as well:

    http://www.onlinephdprograms.com/25-most-effective-tools-for-nanowrimo-success/

    And this, just because it’s about the name of your novel:

    http://thewritepractice.com/deus-ex-machina/

    You’ve got this, Bean!

  4. You can do it bro!

Leave a Reply

