A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 8: Steampunk

I have some really great news!  I’m halfway there!  Yep, today I reached the 25,000 word mark!  Woot!

I promised to give you a taste of the setting of Deus Ex Machina, and that is a promise I intend to keep.  I have already told you that my novel is in the steampunk genre.  I have always wanted to write a steampunk, so when I decided that my NaNoWriMo novel this year would be a steampunk, I was trilled.  I knew that I would finally get to try this branch of science fiction out.  But then I realized that I didn’t know enough about steampunk to give it a real try.  I needed to learn the genre first.

This summer, I went to Amazon.com and I bought some steampunk books that I heard were really good and began to read them, just so I could familiarize myself with the way the genre worked and flowed.  But as I was reading I felt like it wasn’t enough.  I needed to see other views on it, so used the internet to see what I could find.  I did what any normal person would do, and used Wikipedia first.  It gave me some info, but nothing I could really use.  After a good Google search, I came across a great site called Steamed! It was everything I was looking for.  It’s a blog written by steampunk authors.  It had all the information I needed!  I used their Writing Steampunk page to get a lot of good information on how to write for the genre.  If you are writing, or would like to write steampunk, I highly suggest you check them out.

I want to take this time to thank the authors of Steamed for contributing to my novel this year, your site was a great help!

With all of that being said, here is some information about the world my story is set in…

A World of Clockwork

The story of Deus Ex Machina takes place in the early 1900s, around the year 1917.  It is set in a world where aeronauticals  rule the air and nauticals rule the sea.  A world driven by the power of steam and clockwork rather than electricity, which still too dangerous to be used practically.

It’s in a time when clockwork engineers like Saul Deus and Nikolai Stentov are sought  after for their work.  The world is full of clockwork engineers, but Deus and Stentov are at the top of the game, both are famous for their work, and both are the best at what they do.  But their styles are vastly different.

Saul Deus is the owner of Deus Clockwork in New York City.  Deus technology is known for its elegance, beauty, longevity, and reliability; it’s often small, beautiful, and long lasting.  Deus Clockwork is most known for making clocks of all kinds, mantle clocks, wall clocks, grandfather clocks, even pocketclocks and wristclocks.  They also make simple and complex automatons to be used as tools or toys, as well as other various types of clockwork.  Saul Deus is most known known for inventing the wristclock, as well as his fantastic commissions such as the New York Clock Tower, and the Torre del Tempo in Rome.  If someone wants an elegant bit of clockwork, they will usually go to Deus Clockwork.

Nikolai Stentov is the owner of Stentov Engineering in Moscow.  Stentov technology is know for being big, powerful and practical; meant to do the job and to take a beating.  Stentov Engineering is most known for making large simple and complex automatons to be used as tools or toys, mechs, clockwork carriages, as well as other various types of clockwork.  Nikolai Stentov is most known for the invention of the clockwork carriage as well as various other types of massive scale clockwork machines.  If someone wants a powerful bit of clockwork, they will usually go to Stentov Engineering.

The world is on edge because it is rumored that King George of England is planning for war, but no open hostilities have been seen yet.  It soon come’s to Saul’s attention that the crown of England is looking for something that Saul’s Father, George Deus, was building, something that could change the world.

This setting of the story is not based on historical fact; it is not a historical steampunk, but rather a sci-fi steampunk.

Terms Used in Deus Ex Machina

Aeronauticals: Any form of airship; including hot air balloons, zeppelins, and the new airplanes.

Nauticals: Any form of seafaring ship; including boats and ships of all kinds, and submersible ships.

Pocketclocks: A pocket watch.

Wristclocks: A wrist watch.

Clockwork Carriages: Steam powered automobiles, the newest model (the CC-200) can reach speeds of 45 MPH.  It uses advanced and complex clockwork and high pressured steam to run.

Automatons: Automated clockwork toys and tools designed to do a simple or complete task when wound up or powered by steam.

True Automaton:  An automated clockwork man who can move and think for itself with sustainable power to function for extended periods of time, sometimes called a clockwork man (a steampunk android).  A True Automaton is considered to be impossible to make, and is the Holy Grail of clockwork engineering.

* * *

There it is, readers.  There’s much more to the world than that, but I hope you can get an idea of how the story world of this novel is supposed to look.  So far, I’ve enjoyed creating this world, and I’ve had fun writing it.  As I write, things get added or changed, so as of right now, it’s all liquid and flowing.  But this is all the basics.

Current word count for Deus Ex Machina: 25,188/50,000!

Until tomorrow,

Andrew Ronzino, a True Automaton

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 8: Steampunk" (5)

  1. Dude, I have to get you, “Dishonored”. The steampunk environment is intoxicating, and some of your descriptions are dead on with what Dishonored is.

Leave a Reply

