A shift is needed…

The truth is that I didn’t get a lot of writing done today.  In fact, I wrote the daily minimum for NaNoWriMo.  But I have a very, very good excuse…

Because I got to meet Ted Dekker! 

For those of you who don’t know, Ted Dekker is one of my favorite authors.  I’ve read almost every one of his books.  Today, he was in Grand Rapids doing a book signing for his newest book The Sanctuary.  So, my friend, Wondo, and I went and waited in line to meet him.  There were 300+ people there.  It was awesome!

When he arrived, he spoke for about ten minutes about his heart and why he writes, it was very good to hear.  He talked about how he couldn’t wait to meet each one of us.  Then the book signing began.

After hours on line, it was my turn.

I was surprised by how friendly he was.  I asked him to sign two books for me, one of them was his new book, and the other was old hardcover copy of Thr3e, which was the first book of his that I read; the book that got me hooked on his writing.  As he was signing the books, I told him that I was also a writer, and I was currently looking for an agent to handle my novel (my non-NaNo novel, I mean).  I said to him, “As a writer, I have to ask you: how do you write so fast?”  I asked this because Ted Dekker is known for putting out two to three books a year.

He looked up at me and said, “I don’t.  I don’t write fast at all.  I write long.  I just write long.  I push through and keep going.”  After we got a picture together, we shook hands and he wished me luck with my novel.

Ted Dekker is the author I always wanted to meet, because of how much I love his books and his writing style, and because of the inspiration they have on my life, both personally and as a writer.  So to be able to ask him about his own writing was an encouragement to me.  It was a great experience.  I hope to have the same impact on people with my own writing.

Current word count for Deus Ex Machina: 21,736/50,000!

Tomorrow, it’s back to the normal NaNoWriMo journal.  So until then,

Andrew Ronzino, a Writer Who Got to Meet One of His Heroes!

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 7: I Met Ted Dekker!" (4)

  1. Awesome, Andrew! I’m so happy for you! Wow, what a special moment.

    You must have felt as I did when I had Elisabeth Elliot sign a book for me. I said to her through my tears, “You planted the seed for missions in my heart. Thank you”.

    Hugs to you, my son!

  2. That’s so great! love that even with such a long line, he still took time to have a personal convo and pic with each person.

    excited for you!

Leave a Reply

