A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 1: Good Start

NaNoWriMo begins again, and I’m excited to be doing it.  So far, I have had a really good start.  In the hours before midnight of November 1st, I waited anxiously for the stoke of twelve.  Once the clock read 11:58, I had to walk around, cracking my knuckles, trying to shake my excitement away, and prepare for the start.  Once 12:00 flashed on my computer, I began to write.  Because of work the next day, I could only write for about an hour, but I went to bed confident that I had made a good first dent into my story.

Work today was awful because all I wanted to do was get home and write, so when work finally let out, I rushed home, checked my emails, and started to write.  I was super excited.  Then it was time to pack up and head to the first of the weekly write-ins where I met up with some old friends, and made some new ones.  Some of the people I encouraged to try NaNoWriMo out were there as well.  So now that I’m done for the day, I’m happy with my results!

Now, it’s time to give you, my readers, the title and info about my NaNoWriMo project this year!  Brace yourselves, because this is going to be legen…wait for it…dary!

The title for my 2012 NaNoWriMo project is: Deus Ex Machina

It’s a steampunk novel, and that’s all I’m really going to tell you for now!  You’ll have to read on when I post more about it.  But I will say this, though the title may seem cliche and cheesy, it was carefully thought about and chosen for very specific reasons that I may explain later.  I also chose steampunk as the genre because I’ve never written it before, and I want to see if I’m any good at it.  I’m expand on that some more later on as well.  Once again, I’ll be releasing different aspects of my novel, as well as my experiences as I go, so stay tuned!

Current word count for Deus Ex Machina: 5,118/50,000!

Until tomorrow,

Andrew Ronzino, A Guy Who Saw an Owl Tonight

P.S. No seriously…as I was leaving the mall, I watched an owl dive down and almost snag a kitten…after missing the cat, he just stood there on the pavement for like three minutes.  It was so weird.

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 1: Good Start" (4)

  1. Way to go breaking into the 5K club already! Sorry I have to miss Grandville write ins this year- maybe we can hang out in Grand Rapids though!

  2. Hahaha! Love the owl ending :)

  3. […] the final installment to my 2012 and 2013 NaNo projects, Deus Ex Machina and  The Clockwork Heartbeat.  This story takes place eight months after the events of The […]

  4. […] The shortest novel I’ve ever written is about 64,000 words (unedited), and that was my NaNo project from 2012, Deus Ex Machina. […]

Leave a Reply

