A shift is needed…

The Valentine

I wrote this for Valentine’s Day, 2010.  I originally had it as a Facebook note, but I thought I would put it up on The Paradigm.

I don’t really write poetry, so this isn’t very good, but I was inspired to write this…so I did.  And no, I didn’t write it specifically for anyone, it just popped into my head, and I wanted to share it with everyone.  Please remember, poetry isn’t my thing, so it’s not that good.  Enjoy.


The Valentine
By Andrew Ronzino

Middle school
Pass the note
Send it up ahead three rows
To the left
Take a look
“Do you like me, yes or no?”
The reply
On a heart
Simply says, “Will you be mine?”
You were my
First true
Valentine

You were my
First true
Valentine

High school
Slammed the door
My heart will ache forevermore
How could you
Choose him?
I will never know the truth
Remembered a card
That was from you
It simply said, “I love you.”
You’re still mine
Deep inside
Valentine

You’re still mine
Deep inside
Valentine

In a park
Late at night
Crickets sing songs with delight
In a box
Tucked in black
A diamond spreads the moonlight
Happy tears
Caught breath
You simply say, “Yes, I’ll marry you!”
You are mine
I am yours
Valentine

You are mine
I am yours
Valentine

In a church
Draped in white
This is the first time I see you
Will you?
I do!
Sealed with a kiss, I married you
Cut the cake
First dance
What a seemingly perfect romance
Forever you
Will always be
Valentine

Forever you
Will always be
Valentine

Coming home
Feelings keen
Wouldn’t miss this special fourteenth
Rose of red
Chocolate box
Rope of pearls for my lady fox
Kids away
Mice will play
We have never been the same
Kiss for me
One for my
Valentine

Kiss for me
One for my
Valentine

Middle school
Pass the note
Send it up again three rows
To the left
Take a look
“Do you like me, yes or no?”
The reply
On a heart
Simply says, “You are mine”
You were my
First true
Valentine

You were my
First true
Valentine

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Comments on: "The Valentine" (5)

  1. Michael Haberlein said:

    Dude, I like it. I just read it to Amanda the night we got engaged, and it was really cool. Especially the “Rope of pearls for my lady fox”.

  2. This poem IS good! And I love that photo. Absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

