A shift is needed…

One Word 2012

Last year, my sister, Alece Ronzino, did something called One Word.  The idea is to throw away New Year’s resolutions and replace it with one word.  Just one word.  One word to live your life by for the year.  One Word took off and now hundreds of people have resolved to not have a resolution this year, but one simple word.  Because of the success of the concept, her one word has become a community.  One Word 365!

One word.

365 days.

Last year, my One Word was “written“.  It summed up what I wanted out of last year.  And by the end of 2011, I felt like I had lived up to it.

So, what’s my One Word for 2012?  It took me some time to think about it.  I know a lot of words, and each word has the potential to represent what I want out of 2012.  But, it’s not about what I want out of 2012, it’s about what I can be, how I can change and grow.  Both in my spiritual life, and in my life’s desires and goals.  That’s why I have chosen this year’s One Word.

Be

“Be” is a small, two letter word that is easily passed by when you read it in a book or an article.  Kind of like me.  But as small as “be” is, this simple little verb has a lot of strength behind it.  To “be” something means that you “are” something.  You are not wanting, lacking, or desiring, you are.  My word is not “become”.  I don’t want to become.  I already am.  I want to “be”.  “Be” someone new.  “Be” who I am meant to be.

A hero doesn’t “become” a hero; he’s a hero on the inside first.  He needs to “be”, before he can become, and then is a hero.

I want to “be” on the inside.  Be Andrew Ronzino.  I want to stop becoming, because I already am Andrew Ronzino.  Now it’s time to BE!

I start here.  I start now.

One Word 2012: Be

* * *

If you would like to join the One Word 365 community and throw away a resolution and replace it with one word, visit the One Word 365 website: oneword365.com

Comments on: "One Word 2012" (3)

  1. be.

    there is power in two letters. never cease to be, brother. for much is done in doing, but more is done in being.

  2. Love your word. It was nearly mine until I got metaphorically kicked in the shin by the word “listen.” According to these famous lines by L’Engle (responsible for the shin-kicking), the two go well together. “When I am constantly running there is no time for being. When there is no time for being there is no time for listening…”

    Happy New Year!

  3. Great Word “BE”…I look forward to it througtout the yeart

Leave a Reply

