A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 30: One Word

Well, NaNoWriMo, 2011 is over.  I survived.  I wrote a 70,000+ word YA novel in 28 days, as well as grew as a writer.  All in all, I would call it a fantastic victory!

Today, my new NaNo friend GR Liz mentioned something to me that I never thought about.  She said, “I also still love that your word for the year (written) was used so heavily in your novel.  Really cool parallel!”

One Word, which is a project my sister, Alece Ronzino, started, is something I haven’t forgotten.  My One Word for 2011 is: “Written“.  You can click on the link to see why I chose “written” as my One Word, but it means a lot to me.

It was nice to see that someone else recognized it when I didn’t.  The title of my NaNo project this year is Written in Silence, and the word “written” is in the novel a lot.  The fact the the seconday protagonist, Michael, communicates through writing is a major point in the story.  I guess, without even meaning to, I wrote Michael to be a lot like me.  I talk, unlike him, but I also like to communicate through written word.  That’s one reason why I love to write, it’s how I like to express myself.

This whole year was about getting my novel (not my NaNo novel, the other one that I want to get published), ready to be looked at by agents and editors.  I took a month off from that to do NaNoWriMo and write Written in Silence, but in a way, that year long goal was grafted into the idea of the story I wrote this year; in a way, my One Word never left me!

Thank you everyone for following my journey through this year’s National Novel Writing Month.  I hope you have enjoyed it as much as I have.

Until my next blog post,

Andrew Ronzino, an Author

P.S.  I took a victory ride in the carousel at the mall with the other Wrimos at our write-in today.  It was awesome, and very childish at the same time.  The mall Santa was waving at us as we did so.  It was a great moment!  Shout out to all my Wrimos!

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 30: One Word" (6)

  1. Awesome. Day. What a great finish to November!

  2. It is WRITTEN! YEAH! Your One Word came to pass. I’m proud of you! (As a side note: he, who you were named after, is an author!)

  3. that’s really awesome, andrew. even when you weren’t conscious of it, your OneWord was at work…

Leave a Reply

