A shift is needed…

Today is a double feature, you get to hear about two days in one blog post!  Isn’t that wonderful?

Day 25: Day Off

Yesterday was a day off.  A day off of work because of the holiday, and a day off of writing because it was my day off.  I played Skyrim!  It was awesome.  But that’s about all I did, so not much to say there.

Day 26: The Ending

Today, when I was at work, I had the next section of Written in Silence rolling around in my mind.  I’ve reached the point where I’ve begun to write the ending of the story; the climax, and the resolution.  This ending is going to take a lot of work.  I know how I want to end it, but not how to get there.  My timeline of events isn’t very helpful because all it has are the bullet points.

I don’t know how good I am at endings, so we’ll see how I do with a genre that is new to me.  I’ve never tried a story like this, as I’ve said before, so I’m not sure how the end will play out just yet.  I know I don’t have much more to write, so we’ll see how I get there and how it’ll all work out.

The ending is one of the most important parts of the story, if I screw this up, the entire novel is ruined.  So, I’ll do my best to keep it on the right path.

Current word count for Written in Silence: 64,793/50,000

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, the Mystery of the Deep

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 25 & 26: Day Off/The Ending" (7)

  1. Ah the ending, one of the hardest parts of writing a novel. You have to tie everything together in such a way as to satisfy your readers but leave them wanting more, but not too much. However, a really great thing about the frist, second or even tenth draft is that if it doesn’t work then you get another go. Keep at it, never give up and believe in yourself, your novel and your gift! You can do it!

  2. John Wondo said:

    You could give the protagonists siblings pointless deaths, then have her assassinate the person she just helped put in power.

  3. Some of us read the endings first – to see whether or not to even buy the book…no pressure, Andrew! LOL You can do it!

Leave a Reply

