A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 22: POV

I wanted to take the time to talk about the point of view for Written in Silence, there are two things with this story that I’ve never done before.

The first is using a female protagonist and POV.  Now, I have written stories from a female character’s POV before, but only for a few scenes or a chapter here and there, never the whole story.  So far, all of my stories have had a male protagonist.  So, this NaNoWriMo project marks a first for me, because the whole story is taken from Dianna’s point of view.

The other thing I’ve never done before is the story’s POV itself.  Personally, I’m fond of reading and writing stories with a multiple third person POV.  That’s when the story is told in third person, with one primary point of view character, but at appropriate times (such as a chapter change or a page break) the POV character can switch to someone else.  Written in Silence, however, is told in third person limited point of view.  For the entire story, we are focused on only one character’s POV.  If Dianna isn’t there, you’re not seeing it.  It’s also very close in psychic distance, the story is third person, but it could be first person.  We’re right inside Dianna’s head all the time.  The reason why I didn’t do it in first person is because I wanted to try it out.  This entire project is an experiment.

So far, it’s weird for me.  I’m so used to having the freedom to switch to someone else if I feel like the story needs it, but it doesn’t work for this story.  There have been times when I wanted to switch to Michael’s POV, so you can get a sense of what he’s feeling and thinking, but I haven’t let myself take the easy way out.  Instead, I have write his feelings and thoughts as Dianna sees them, and because Michael doesn’t talk, it makes it even harder.

So, my NaNo project this year is a growing experience.  I purposely chose a POV style that I’ve never done before to try it out, and so far, I like the way it’s written, and I’m very happy with the way it’s turning out.

Current word count for Written in Silence: 58,326/50,000

Until tomorrow,

Andrew Ronzino, Just Andrew Ronzino

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 22: POV" (6)

  1. Way to go on trying something new, that’s the only way to grow as a writer. Keep up the good work!

  2. Choosing POV has to be THE most difficult part of writing for me. I am making notes on a new novel where I would like to spin the story using the voices of three sisters. As a reader I find omniscient voices less appealing. I prefer to connect with the character of the narrator(s).

    Good for you writing in a female voice. I did an older, male, Bolivian voice last year for NaNo. Talk about opportunities to doubt yourself!

  3. Your growing as a writer and not afraid of change. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

