A shift is needed…

Okay, so last night I was up till about three o’clock writing.  I was in a zone and I didn’t want to stop.  I didn’t write a ton, but it was enough to keep me going until the early morning.  I didn’t have to work the next day, so I was able to sleep in.  It was awesome.

I was able to write a scene that I’ve been looking forward to writing for a while.  Once I started it, I didn’t want to stop.  Soon, I realized that my eyes weren’t staying open anymore.  It was good too, because I had just ended the chapter, so I figured it would be a good place to stop and get some shut eye.

I like it when I get inspired like that, and all I want to do is finish the scene or chapter, I just zone out, and focus only on the story and how it’s going to play out.  Now, I have no idea how good it is, because as I wrote, I was getting more and more tired.  Some of it might not even make sense now, but it felt good to write it.

To those of my readers who are writers:  When you write, do you ever get days where you get into this focused state, and the next thing you know it’s three in the morning?

Current word count for Written in Silence: 56,262/50,000

Until tomorrow,

Andrew Ronzino, a Tired Man

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 21: Late Night Writing" (4)

  1. Oh yes, very much so. Those are the best times for me. I don’t get the chance to get into the zone and just forget about life as much as I would really like to but when I do, it’s just grand.

  2. Man, I was just in that zone two days ago. The first day I hit like 15k then I did around the same amount the next day. It was the end of my novel, and that’s actually how I begin my stories, I mentally outline the end and work backwards. I’d been waiting to write those chapters for weeks. My dear wife broke my concentration a bit, but I managed to get my flow back.

    • I’ve never been one for starting with the ending. I’ll usually have it all played out in my head, or have it on an outline or a timeline of events, but I can’t write it first.

      Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

