A shift is needed…

It’s day fifteen of NaNoWriMo, which is the half way point.  Do you know what’s cool?  I reached 40,000 words!  Which means that if I keep going at the rate I’ve been going, my novel could be 80,000 words by the time NaNo is over.  However, I know for a fact I can’t sustain the story for that long.  My pace has slowed down lately, but that’s okay, I’m quite ahead on my word count, so if I don’t write 3,000 words a day I’ll be more than okay.

At this half way point, I want to look at how far I’ve come.

Before Day 15

When I started this project, I was well prepared.  I started getting ready for this year’s NaNoWriMo at the end of June.  Why, you may ask?  Because I knew I was going to have a busy summer, and I would need to get some stuff out of the way.  So, I started thinking of story ideas.  I had a few different plots I was playing with in my head, and eventually I got it down to one story.  I started forming how things would work, but then, after a few weeks of planning stuff out in my head, a completely different story, Written in Silence, dropped in my lap.  I switched gears and began to form that one instead.  I may save the other plot for next year if it still holds up by then.

I started to write up my character profiles for Dianna and Michael, developing New America, and how the world works in the setting the story takes place in.  Then I created a timeline of events, that I would add or take away from as I saw fit.  I knew that I wanted to be well prepared, so I did as much as I could.  This way, come November 1st, all I had to do was sit down to write it.

When day one hit, I felt like I was about as prepared as I could have been, and it made starting the story a little easier.  I highly recommend preparing for NaNo.  I started to use my timeline of events as a basic guide on where to bring the story, kind of like landmarks, and I filled all of the stuff in between.

After Day 15

Well, now that I’m at the half way point and looking back, my story has changed a bit.  Not the plot, that’s always been the same, but my characters have been altered a bit.  As I wrote, they just came to life and are now slightly different people.  The setting also changed a bit, New America became a very different place than when I started.  And even my timeline of events changed a little.  The point is, I didn’t keep things to a strict and ridged format, I let the story grow and change as I wrote.  Kind of cool!

It’s funny how much has changed in my story if you compare it to my notes from before NaNo started this year, and I must say, I like what it’s become.  Written in Silence was, and still is, a challenge for me, but I’ve been enjoying every minute of it.

Current word count for Written in Silence: 41,898/50,000!

Until tomorrow,

Andrew Ronzino, a Jedi

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 15: Half Way There" (6)

  1. Congrats on the outstanding word count!

  2. See, that’s why I’m such a pantster – I want to see how things change before I commit to what will happen in the story. :)

    8K to go – piece of cake, right?

    Adrianne
    P.S. Are you taking padawans?

  3. Being ahead of the game is always a good thing. Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

