A shift is needed…

It’s been one week, and I’m not going to lie, NaNoWriMo is kicking my butt.  I feel like the only things I’ve been doing is working, writing, or rehearsing my part for the church Christmas production, The Grinch.  But it’s all good, I’m trying to write a novel in just 30 days, not as easy as it sounds, which is funny because it doesn’t sound all that easy.

This year I have gotten to know a bunch of other people in my area who are also doing NaNo, we use the forums on the NaNo website to keep in touch, offer encouragement and challenges, etc.  Anyway, a bunch of us communicate on Twitter and Facebook as well, and a little word count rilverly rose up between myself and GR Liz.  Without even realizing it, we seemed to be trying to see who can reach 50,000 words faster.

But you know what?  This is a challenge, not a contest.  I will write what I need to write, and do what I need to do to achieve the goal of reaching 50,000 words and finishing the novel.  That’s right, people.  I’m not stopping at the 50K mark, no, I’m going until the novel is done.  It’s not about racing others to the goal, it’s about pushing myself in my skills as a writer.  And I will succeed!

Current word count for Written in Silence: 23,366/50,000!

Until the next entry,

Andrew Ronzino, Volunteer Brain Surgeon

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 7: It’s Not a Contest!" (6)

  1. Well said. It’s a challenge for yourself, and quite frankly for me, a really refreshing venture to be working on a story again, even if I haven’t gotten more than 6 hours of sleep at night since mid-October, the blog is lagging a bit, and I can’t find my kitchen table, lol! I tend to be an overachiever, so my 12K is feeling rather paltry. But I am really enjoying my story and I have miraculously had (made) time to write every single day, so I am happy!

    Cheers to finishing the story, wherever it ends!
    Adrianne

  2. At the same time, we are not all aiming to get 50k at the end of this month. I want to have a finished (albeit rough draft) of this novel and the way its looking that will take at least 70k. I appreciate our friendly competition since it helped me get past writers block and push ahead- I needed the kick in the pants so I could keep moving forward!! My goal is just to keep going and pushing myself further than I thought I could go. I know you are doing the same thing!!

  3. You have quite an impressive word count for this early in the month. The trick is to keep writing after the 50k until the novel acutally ends. So many people meet the goal and just stop. End it, edit it, enjoy it, but mostly, stick with it. :)

Leave a Reply

