A shift is needed…

Today I passed the 10,000 word mark!  That’s right, 1/5th of this novel is written, and it’s only been four days!  (Look, Mom, fractions!)  You have no idea how happy this makes me.  I feel like I have accomplished so much, but then I have to remember that I have 4/5ths left to go.  Staying strong.

I had something interesting happen today as I was writing.  This really rude person just pushed his way out onto the page and said, “Here I am, deal with me!”  No joke.  I was writing, and this character just decided he needed to be there.  He wasn’t planed, nor did he even have a name.  He just came into being and put himself on the page.  Not cool.  Yet, I’m quite happy with his involvement, and I already know how I’m going to tie him in later on.

Now, I know what you’re thinking, “Andrew, we don’t even know who your main characters are yet, why are you telling us about some random one?”

The answer is simple, I’m not.  The one who was birthed tonight is a minor character, and though I’ll be bringing him back, he won’t have much to do…at least, not now.  My fingers may change that, writing is awesome that way.  But I do promise that soon I will post about my main characters and what they do, just keep reading The Paradigm, and you’ll find out soon enough.

As for right now, I have a treat for you.  My first excerpt!  Please keep in mind that this is what I like to call a “vomit draft”.  This was written fast, and has had little to no editing, as I only have 30 days to write this novel.  I have polished it up a little so it will be presentable to my readers, but other than that, this is still the first rough draft that I “vomited” up.  So if it looks, reads, and smells like crap, please understand that I won’t be wasting any of my 30 days to making it look perfect.  I can always fix it up later.  So, without further ado, here is proof that I’m actually doing something:

Dianna grabbed Isabel’s arm and yanked her back. “Whoa, hold up. Two questions: Who is that hottie over there; the one with the dark hair? And how can I get his number?”

Isabel looked over at the guys and smiled briefly. In that moment, Dianna’s heart panicked, hoping that Isabel wouldn’t tell her that Italian Stallion over there was her boyfriend. Isabel looked away and said, “That’s my brother, Michael.”

Relief drenched her like a bucket of cold water. Mr. Hot was her brother, that was much better than boyfriend. Dianna looked at Michael Vadaren again, then back at Isabel. The resemblance was not there.

Isabel must have caught on; she was quick. “Adopted brother.”

“Oh, I see. So you can give me his number.” Dianna turned to Isabel and took hold of her arms in mock desperation. “Please tell me he’s single.”

Isabel laughed and walked on, Dianna glanced back at Michael one more time, he was writing something on a pad of paper, then followed Isabel. “C’mon, Isabel.”

“You’re persistent, aren’t you?” Isabel said.

“Guilty. Now, please tell me your hunk of a brother isn’t seeing anyone.”

Isabel rolled her eyes, and actually looked annoyed. “All the new girls ask the same thing, he’s too popular for his own good.” It was her turn to stop Dianna. “Yes. He’s single.”

Dianna smiled. Maybe if what her father said was true, and they were staying for a while, she could land a longer-than-a-few-months relationship.

But then, Isabel said, “But, trust me, he’s out of your league.”

“What does that mean?”

“I’m not saying he wouldn’t like you. He’s difficult to understand, that’s all.”

“Hey, understanding is what I do best. When can I meet him?”

“God! You’re pushy!”

“Guilty again. When?”

The bell rang, and students began to rush to their class rooms. The next bell would be lunch, and that would mark then end of her tour of New American High School of Stanton.

“Forget my brother,” Isabel said. But with an amused smile.

Dianna smiled back. Fat chance, like that would ever happen.

-Excerpt from Written in Silence; Chapter 1 “The Combination Lock“, by Andrew Ronzino

Again, keep in mind that it’s extremely rough and I’m aware of that.

Current word count for Written in Silence: 11,427/50,000!

This concludes this NaNoWriMo journal entry.  Until tomorrow,

Andrew Ronzino, Co-Creator of the Best Superhero Ever, (men)Man!

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 4: A Surprise Character and an Excerpt" (14)

  1. Oooh. I definitely like it! I can’t wait to see where this is going! Great job, Andrew. Especially your use of the term “vomit draft” Wonder where you got that one from….

    ~Lizzie

  2. Grats on your 10k! I just hit mine as well and ohmigosh, is that ever a great feeling?! Good luck with your novel!

  3. Nice Ronzi! The futuristic concept is very compelling. It looks like you are having fun! Keep up the good work.
    I’m all motivated to post an excerpt now, too. Maybe after I get my word count done for today.
    Happy weekend!

  4. Laughing. out. loud. that he is an “Italian Stallion”. Good work. Are you writing in at Liz’s today?

  5. Great going, Andrew. Are your fingers cramping yet?

  6. You are totally basing Michael on Stamos, aren’t you?? Nicely done :). Also, don’t sell yourself short- this is a great draft and you’re giving yourself tons of ways to grow and continue improving the material. That’s why vomit drafts are so much fun!

Leave a Reply

