A shift is needed…

Today, when I sat down to work on Written in Silence, I had absolutely no drive to write.  After procrastinating on Facebook and Twitter for a while, I decided to just start writing.  And it started slow…I mean, very slow.  The flow of words just wasn’t coming.  So I played some music on iTunes to drown out any ambient noises, something I hardly ever do when I write, and just did the best that I could.  Sure enough, after going for a while, the words started coming naturally to me.  I ended up writing nearly 3,000 words!  Needless to say, I’m proud of myself for that.  Sticking with it even though there seemed to be nothing there.

Now, some of you may be wondering what this novel I’m writing is all about.  You know that it’s called Written in Silence, but not much else.

Until now!

The plot is ready for the light of day:

Seventy years after the fall of the American government, New America is under tyrannical rule.

Sixteen-year-old Dianna Testa just moved to the Pennsylvania Providence from Four Corners.  Her father, a general in the New American military, promises that this will be the last time.  As a new student at the New American High School of Stanton, she meets Michael Vadaren.  Michael is a fun and unique guy Dianna’s age who doesn’t speak, but communicates everything with the written word.  Little did Dianna know that meeting Michael Vadaren would changer her life forever. 

Michael, who was adopted by the Vadarens after his parents were killed in a house fire, learns that he is the son of Ben and Maria Sassano, the leaders of the Old American Movement.  It seems that he alone could be the key to taking down the tyrannical rule of President Paul Genesis, and bring back the old ways of a free America.  Chased by Genesis’ assassins, Dianna and Michael go on a dangerous journey to find a voice, and change the world as they know it.

There it is.  I’ll go into more details about the characters and New America later, so keep reading. 

Current word count for Written in Silence: 9,409/50,000!

Until the morning sun rises,

Andrew Ronzino, A Wrimo

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 3: The Plot of “Written in Silence”" (8)

  1. Wow, you are rocking it! Good job!
    Adrianne

  2. Awesome word count, pushing me onward and upward (currently 6,126). Procrastination is inevitable. I think the pre-internet writers had the advantage.

  3. I love the plot line for this, Ronzie. Lots of directions to go in. An interesting dynamic having Diana’s father be a general. Whose side is he on? Will he hunt his own daughter? Does President Genesis keep him in the dark? Good thriller plot for sure.

  4. Wow…I kind of like the plot. Good job! (Keep that pencil sharpened! Get it?)

Leave a Reply

