A shift is needed…

Never Beyond Freedom

Mel Gibson.

A handsome heartthrob to many women.

A man’s man to many men.

An angry anti-Semite to many critics.

I love Mel Gibson, I think he’s a great actor and has done many classic movies that are must watches (not including What Women Want…that just sucked).  He’s mostly known for portraying William Wallace and screaming “FREEDOM!”,  and for creating The Passion of the ChristThe Passion is one of the most influential movies about Jesus and His sacrifice I have ever seen.  I left the theater in tears after watching it on opening night.  Seeing Christ’s death as it was portrayed in that movie was eye opening for me.

But Gibson is human.  He got drunk and said some very hateful things; not to mention the angry voicemail messages.

Haven’t you ever done something stupid before?

Haven’t you ever said hurtful and nasty things?

We look at Mel Gibson, and because of his famous status we scoff and condemn him.  Yes, what he did and said was not good, I don’t deny that, but if Gibson was a normal guy working a 9 to 5 job would we still care about it?

I don’t know what’s in Mel Gibson’s heart.  I don’t know how sorry he truly is for the things he’s said and did.  All I know is that he’s been trying to redeem himself ever since.

We’ve all said and done stupid things that have hurt others, and in turn, hurt our reputations.  We all try to redeem ourselves in the eyes of the people we’ve harmed and win back our heart’s freedom.

I believe that we all need second chances from those we have hurt in the past; hurt by our words and by our actions.  And if we deserve a second chance…

…Doesn’t the man who held the nail to Christ’s hand also deserve a second chance?

* * *

I’m have partnered myself with People of the Second Chance and their Never Beyond Poster Series.  They will feature 25 posters representing well known historical, current, and fictional characters who are believed to have harmed society.  The campaign draws out themes of forgiveness, grace, and what a pathway to a second chance looks like.

To see my last post for the Never Beyond Series, click here: The KKK.

Comments on: "Never Beyond Freedom" (18)

  1. Awesome and to the point…a second chance. Being in the public light only makes the same garbage we fall into public….I am glad no one has gone through my “junk.”

    GOD ROCKS!

  2. You nailed it Chris. If my mistakes were lived in public, I’d be Mel².

    And Andrew…I finally made it by! Still getting in my POTSC groove. But starting to figure out how to write, respond AND make it around to everyone else’s blogs every week. Totally rewarding, though. Each unique perspective really completes the theme for me.

    Thank you Jesus for second chances…and thirds, and fourths…unending.

    PS Have you seen the old 60s movie “The Robe”? It’s about the Roman soldier responsible for Jesus ultimate death. Good acting, great script…goes with your comment above.

    • Hey Caleb,

      I’m glad you came by. It took me a little while to figure out what I was doing for the Never Beyond series too. Like you said, it’s great to see different people’s takes on the same subject.

      And no, I’ve never seen “The Robe”. I should look it up though.

      Thanks for stopping by, and I hope to see you at The Paradigm again soon.

  3. Great Post! I love the poster series they are doing at POTSC

  4. I think that’s the largest part of it. He’s a celebrity. Sure someone like you or I says and/or does what he’s done we’d get backlash. But we wouldn’t be slandered across TV or the grocery checkout newsstands. Being known, doesn’t make us more or less sinful. We all are. We just have the grace not to be in the spotlight.

    • Right, if we were in the spotlight, every single time we mess up in any way, it would be blown out of proportion and slathered all over the news. Not cool. Thank you for your comment.

  5. Great insight, Andrew!! I always enjoy coming by and seeing your perspective. I have messed up royally by doing or saying stupid things. If there is grace for someone like me – it’s available to everyone else. Even Mel Gibson.

  6. I love this perspective. Mel Gibson, like so many others, stretch the limits of our ability to extend grace. Thanks for the challenge!

  7. Jaclyn_Turner said:

    Great post Andrew! I believe that being a public figure (celebrity, politician, etc.) “dirty laundry” is aired out way more than the average “not in the public’s eye” person. Sometimes, I think we focus on the public figure’s mess more than ours and talk smack about them so that we don’t have to face our own messes. Thanks for your perspective!

  8. Andrew! I’m late getting over here this week. To answer some of your questions, yes, I have done some stupid things and said some nasty things. Unfortunately, much of that has been sober. I’m glad that I’m not living in the Big Brother house where it would all get recorded for “posterity”. I don’t know Mel’s heart either, but I know that God is not keen on me taking His place as Judge either. I’ve been given other Kingdom work to do and He does not need my fingers messing in that. If for some really strange reason Mel shows up on my doorstep, I’ll make sure to treat him with love and respect (and some Southern hospitality). That’s what God has been asking me to do with the people in my life who need second chances from me.

    Glad to be POTSC with you!!!

  9. really like this !

Leave a Reply

