A shift is needed…

I don’t know about other writers out there, but when I write, I either write for need or for passion.  Let me explain what I mean.

Need

When I write for need, that means one of two things, I either need to write because I have to, such as an assignment, a report, a letter, or something of the like.  Or I write something because I need to get something off my chest, such as emails to people who I’m either angry with or they’re angry at me, or I’m dealing with something so I put a little blurb about it on Facebook.  I’m not looking to talk about it, but I need to write it.  It’s a need like thirst or hunger; it’s just something that needs to be taken care of.  This is not necessarily a bad thing, just a way to express myself when I need to.

Passion

When I write for passion, that means that something has excited me or stirred me up.  When I write like this, it’s often long and has a lot of words within it.  But even passion gets split; there are three kinds of passionate writing for me, need passion, topical passion, or emotional passion.  All three are passionate writing.

Need passion writing is when I’m passionate about the thing I need to write.  It often happens to me when I’m bring something I feel like they need to hear.  Such as a rebuke or an encouragement.  I get very excited or angered about it and just write, and write, and write!

Topical passion is the type of passionate writing that I do the most.  This is when some topic, subject, or project excites me and all I can think about is that thing.  I dive in head first into that thing and keep going until it’s either done or a good portion of it is done, and I’ll return to it later.  This includes a few of the long winded topics here on The Paradigm.  Like my Twilight Vs. Roswell Comparison Review, my Inside Look at “The Neverending Story” Review, or my Truth About Halloween Article. If you haven’t read any of these, check them out, I pored my heart into them.  It’s passionate writing.  I also include the science fiction book trilogy in this area.  It’s a story I’m passionate about and that I will continue to be so until I see it on the bookshelves.

And last of all we have emotional passion.  This is something that I feel so deeply about that I feel what I’m writing.  This sometimes happens when I’m doing a topical article or working on a story.  I feel what the character I’m writing, or the subject I’m writing about is all about!

What Does This Have To Do With NaNo?

You might be wondering why I’m talking about this?   This has nothing to do with NaNo!  Well, the answer is simple.  I was writing passionately today as I worked on my newest chapter for The Pharaoh!  I was writing Seti when he was angry about something that has happened.  And when I stopped to leave my apartment to go write at Biggby (there’s a Bible study at my place on Friday nights, but I’ve been skipping so I could write), and when I was putting my computer away, I felt angry!  I realized then that I was feeling what I was creating Seti to feel.  I wasn’t really angry, but because I was so engrossed in the story, I felt what I intended my character to feel.  It was a cool experience!

Current word count for The Pharaoh: 36,015/50,000

Well, that’s all for now, please give some of my articles a look:

Twilight Vs. Roswell: https://greaterthanknowledge.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/twilight-vs-roswell/

An Inside Look at “The Neverending Story”: https://greaterthanknowledge.wordpress.com/2010/03/01/an-inside-look-at-%E2%80%9Cthe-neverending-story%E2%80%9D/

The Truth About Halloween:  https://greaterthanknowledge.wordpress.com/2008/10/27/the-truth-of-halloween/

Andrew Ronzino, AKA Ronzi Pet Zombie (Inside joke…don’t ask)

P.S.  This is the greatest rap by the greatest rapper who has ever lived.  Ever!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UwSEnMsrJZc&feature=sub

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 12: The Passion in Writing" (7)

  1. Andrew, did you know that you also sing passionately? Your rendition of My Father’s Chair was one of the most passionate songs I’ve heard. Love your passion.

    • Thank you! I miss those days. I doubt I could even hit some of those notes anymore. Shame really. I remember that Pastor Tom cried one time after I sang it.

      Love you!

  2. TheNorEaster said:

    You’re writing a novel in a month?!?!

    • Yes. Yes I am. Well, I’m co-authoring a novel in a month. It’s a writing challenge called NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). It where you have 30 days to write a minimum of 50,000 words. This is my first year doing it, and so far, it’s awesome!

  3. […] of The Pharaoh.  What she was writing had emotionally touched her.  She was, in my opinion, writing with passion.  So I took it and I read it, and I even though I didn’t start to cry, it was really sad.  […]

  4. I totally get that too! My parents (who aren’t avid writers) could never understand what that was like, to be so passionate about writing something and having to get it off your chest that you can’t sleep or eat or concentrate. I love it and I always will.

Leave a Reply

