A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo Day 11: Characters

As I promised yesterday, I will give you some insight into the characters Lizzy and I have developed for our NaNoWriMo project, The Pharaoh.  Now, when we decided that we wanted to do a story set in ancient Egypt, and that it would be a Beauty and the Beast-like story, we decided to go ahead and flesh out the two protagonists prior to November 1st so we would know them, their personalities, goals, likes/dislikes, and all that good stuff.  So we worked on it for a month or so.  Come November 1st, we were ready to begin writing.  For the sake of ease, I will only be sharing our two main characters, Husn and Seti.  Just so you know, Lizzy developed Husn, and I developed Seti.  Also bare in mind that we’re not done writing the story, so this is just some of the info on them that we have currently.

Husn, the Beauty

We’ll start with Husn and how she got her name.  Once we knew what we wanted, I started looking around the internet (created by Al Gore, of course) for ancient Egyptian names.  Sure enough, I found a site that had them under baby names.  I was looking through their small selection and I found the name Husn, which, in ancient Egyptian, meant “Beauty”.  I said to myself, “No way that just happened.”  I show it it Lizzy right away, and she loved it.  We had our Belle!

Husn is in her early 20’s and she is an oracle priestess for the ancient Egyptian god Wadjet.  She has lived her whole life in the temple, and she is believed to be an oracle, though she has no true gift of seeing visions and whatnot.  She is a total faker…but a good one.  She is called upon to interpret Pharaoh’s dreams, which she does, making up everything she says.  Her greatest fear is that people, including the king, will learn that she’s not a true oracle.  She needs to find a way to get past Seti’s shell and reach the soft heart he has inside.

Seti, The Beast

This section may be longer…because this is my blog, and Seti is my character. Instead of starting with the name, I’ll explain how Seti like the Beast.  In our story, Seti used to be the ancient Egyptian god Set.  Set (sometimes called Seth, or Setesh), is the god of desert, storms, darkness, and chaos.  He has the body of a man, and the head of a creature we now call the “Set-Animal“.  He is called this because Set was an unknown creature.  The head had a mixture of many different animals.  He was an unknown beast.  This was the reason why I chose Set.  Set angered one of the other goddesses and he was cast down into the earth to live life as a human until he changed and earned his godhood again.  He was born to Pharaoh Ramesses.  He was given the name Seti and he forgot his past life as a god.  The only thing from his past life he has are his vexing dreams.  But he doesn’t know what they mean.

Now for the name.  It’s obvious why I chose Set…but why a real Pharaoh?  When I sat down to write the Pharaoh character, I was going to make up a name and just use a fictional Pharaoh.  But then I thought about it, I thought it would be cool to use a real Pharaoh from history.  So, research began.  I did a lot of reading, and watched a lot of documentaries, and found my Pharaoh.  Seti I, father of Ramesses II (AKA Ramesses, the Great).  He was a famous Pharaoh and did a lot of great things…he also built one of the deepest burial temples.  The reason why I chose Seti is because his name means “Of Set”.  He was dedicated to the god Set.  So it was fitting.  Set the god becomes Seti the man.  It’s the beast…in reverse!

Seti is a cold hearted Pharaoh, nasty, mean.  He is vexed and plagued by dreams that he does not know the meaning of.  When he has had enough, he calls on the services of Husn to tell him what his dreams mean.  Later, Husn will help him become a better person, and a better Pharaoh.  She will tame the beast inside of him…and by the end he will regain his godhood.  Become Set again, and make Husn his goddess queen.  At least, that’s the plan.  We’ll see how the story shapes out.

So there, you have it, those are the protagonists for The Pharaoh!  There’s more details, but I don’t want to bore you.

Current word count for The Pharaoh: 32,135/50,000

Until next time,

Andrew Ronzino, That One Guy Who Did That One Thing That One Time

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 11: Characters" (9)

  1. This is an official request that you cease and desist all writings having to do with Beauty and the Beast.

    We own the exclusive rights to anything that even remotely resembles this story, which The Pharaoh certainly does.

    If you do not comply with our request, we will eat you. Alive.

    Seriously.

    BUY OUR STUFF

    -Walt Disney Co. Legal

  2. Thank you for mentioning me in your blog.

    However, I must point out that in typing my name, you expended enough energy to power an African village for a month.

    And by breathing while writing my name, you exhaled enough carbon dioxide to add to the greenhouse effect that is slowly killing our planet.

    And without a planet, how will you get your book published? Hmmm? In space?!

    I’M NOT CRAZY

    Al Gore

  3. Hey Ronzi, I only have one thing to say to this post….A Serpent guard, a Horus guard, and a Setesh guard meet on a neutral planet. It is a tense moment. The Serpent guard’s eyes glow. The Horus guard’s beak glistens. The Setesh guard’s nose drips…
    roflmao, your pharaoh is a fail Goa’uld. XD

  4. […] I was writing passionately today as I worked on my newest chapter for The Pharaoh!  I was writing Seti when he was angry about something that has happened.  And when I stopped to leave my apartment to […]

  5. […] the realms of romance.  Well because our NaNoWriMo project is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast (Suck it, Disney!  We’re writing it anyway!), you would expect there to be a love story in it.  You can’t have Belle and Beast without […]

  6. […] that Lizzy and I are telling for our NaNoWriMo project, The Pharaoh, has been taken from either Seti’s or Husn’s point of view.  We’re seeing the events unfold through their eyes, so to speak.  There are […]

Leave a Reply

