A shift is needed…

Well, Lizzy and I have been at it for three days now, and together we have written over 11,300 words!  We are 1/5 of the way to the goal of 50,000 words (see Mom?  I DID learn fractions)!  That’s really exciting.  I went from thinking this was going to be practically impossible to thinking we may reach the goal and surpass it!  I’m not saying it’s any easier, just more within our grasp!  The thought of being able to say when this is all over, “I co-wrote a full novel from scratch in 30 days.” is encouraging to me!  To borrow a phrase from the wonderful 90’s, I’m psyched!

Now, I wanted to add a little bit of our writing so people can get a taste of what we’re doing and what kind of project we’re working on.  So, I cleared it with my co-author to add a small excerpt of The Pharaoh to The Paradigm.  The Pharaoh at The Paradigm, The Pharaoh at The Paradigm, The Pharaoh at The Paradigm…sorry.  I got carried away there.  Our story is about ancient Egypt, if you haven’t guess by the title.  So here it is, do you don’t think we’re not actually doing anything, is the first excerpt from our NaNo Novel:

He smiled coldly at Meptph and said, “I require three rooms, High Priestess. One for myself, one for my viceroy, and one for my aids. I shall spend the night in this temple and conduct my business in the morning.”

Meptph couldn’t hide the shock in her eyes. He assumed it was because she was so honored to have him stay with them. He, the Pharaoh, a human god! But when she found her voice he was mistaken.

“My lord, that is not permissible. Men are not allowed to sleep within the walls of this temple. For the sake of the girls as well as the—”

Seti rose, knocking the girl with the tray back. “Woman, I am no man! I am Pharaoh! I choose what is permissible!”

-Excerpt from Chapter 2 of The Pharaoh by Elizabeth Hefty and Andrew Ronzino

Please remember that this is a “vomit draft”, meaning that all we did was write the chapters and give it a simple once-over to make sure it made sense.  There has been no real editing done to it.  So if it looks and reads like crap, please understand that we’re not wasting any of our 30 days to making it look perfect.  If we like it in the end, we’ll fix it up then.

Well, that’s it for the day!  Stay tuned!

-Andrew Ronzino

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 3: The First Excerpt" (16)

  1. I like it! No need to give the proviso that “It’s a vomit draft” because there’s not much wrong with it grammatically at all! Well done my friend.

  2. What’s a “try back”? That line didn’t make any sense to me.
    Other than that though, not bad. Once it’s done you should post it on your deviantart. You need some submissions. XD

  3. Good job!!

  4. Ian Hilgendorf said:

    Congrats on the big start! 11,000 words is a ton of writing! Keep up the good work.

  5. […] Excerpt (or as a writing buddy refers to these very rough draft stages: Vomit Draft) […]

  6. I hope you don’t mind that I borrowed a term from you here in my first excerpt:
    http://www.angiewashington.com/2010/11/seven-streets-excerpt/

    Thanks!

  7. […] think of what to write.  So I just let go and let the story write itself.  It’s just a vomit draft anyway, so if it’s crappy, Lizzy and I can always go back a rewrite it […]

  8. […] another way, and it would just be sloppy.  I’m not saying it’s perfect.  It is just a “vomit draft” after all, so there are bound to be style issues, but for what it is right now, I would say that […]

  9. […] and now 30 days have passed, and what started as just a few words on a page has turned into the vomit draft of a full length novel.  We started by trying to reach 50,000 words, but we passed that number by […]

Leave a Reply

