A shift is needed…

NaNoWriMo (NaNo for short) has begun for me and my co-author, Elizabeth!  And I think it got off to a good start.  I called Lizzy this morning to flesh out some details, and talk about bombs for some reason.  She then set off to write Chapter 1 of our project, which is currently has the working title of “The Pharaoh”.  As for what the story is about, you’ll have to wait and see.  Ha!

After a little while, Lizzy sent me the character profile for the female protagonist (I had sent her the profile of the male protagonist a while back as that was one of the first things I did in preparation for this project), and as I was reading that, she sent Chapter 1!  It was awesome, really well done.  After reading that, I got started on my part…Chapter 2!

It was really exciting to get started on writing my first ever NaNo project!  I blew off all other distractions and wrote, not really going back to fix my minor mistakes.  See, what we’re doing is writing what’s called the “Vomit Draft”, it is the very first draft of the story taking no time to fix problems.  We only have a month, so we don’t have the time to go back and do that.  If the story is good enough, we may go back and fix it up, rewrite it, for a less choppy second draft!

Keep watching, as my progress will be updated here.  But no guarantees that I’ll update every day.

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo Day 1: Titles and Vomit" (7)

  1. Upon reading this post I had a paradigm shift in my pants!

  2. GREAT First Beginnings! The countdown is on!

  3. […] people when you tell them what you’re doing, the best thing is the social aspect of it.  My first year of doing NaNoWriMo, I did it alone.  Well, not really, because my friend Elizabeth and I […]

Leave a Reply

