A shift is needed…

Goodbye, Ground Floor

Goodbye, Ground FloorDear friends and family that make up the Ground Floor,

I have been apart of your for a little under four years now. I moved to Michigan in September of 2004 to join the Ground Floor Internship, under the leadership of Pastor Scott Vruggink, Pastor Ryan Grabill, and Pastor Robb Kornoelje. I was an outsider from Long Island, New York. But you let me in.

Over the three years that I was an GF Intern and staff member, I grew a lot. God healed me from wounds and scars of my past, he showed me who I really am, and gave me a new direction. Because of the leadership of the GF, as well as my fellow interns, I have become a better person. During this time, I have pored out my life to the students that attended the Ground Floor and tried to be the best mentor, role model, and friend that I could be. But the students of the Ground Floor has taught me so much in return. I can’t thank them enough for everything that they have done.

After my three year internship was over, in September of 2007, I stayed on as a volunteer at the Ground Floor. But now…in the summer of 2008, I have felt like God has released me from ministry at the Ground Floor. I have felt this way for the last three or four months. And after much prayer and thought, I have ended my time at the GF.

I will still be here, I’m not leaving now. But I will no longer be actively volunteering. I feel like God is moving me on to different things.

This hurts me. I am saddened by this, however, I still feel a joy, because I know that it is my time to leave. Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 says:

“To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven:

A time to be born,
And a time to die;
A time to plant,
And a time to pluck what is planted;
A time to kill,
And a time to heal;
A time to break down,
And a time to build up;
A time to weep,
And a time to laugh;
time to mourn,
And a time to dance;
A time to cast away stones,
And a time to gather stones;
time to embrace,
And a time to refrain from embracing;
A time to gain,
And a time to lose;
A time to keep,
And a time to throw away;
A time to tear,
And a time to sew;
A time to keep silence,
And a time to speak;
A time to love,
And a time to hate;
A time of war,
And a time of peace.”

This is my time to leave, but my heart will always be with you, and my prayers will always be with you. My only hope, my only desire, is that my time with the Ground Floor has impacted many lives, as many lives have impacted mine.

We’ve laughed together, cried together, hurt together, grown together, loved together, and fought together. For that, I thank you, Ground Floor.

If you desire, I will be blogging (I know, me…a blogger…weird). There I will write stuff that is on my heart down. It may be serious, it may be dumb or even fun. Check it out if you ever wish to keep updated on my life. Here is the link:

https://greaterthanknowledge.wordpress.com/

And, of course, there’s always Facebook. Catch me there too.

So, at least for I time, Ground Floor friends and family,

Until the morning sun rises, I say, “So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, goodbye!”

– Andrew “Ronzi” Ronzino

Comments on: "Goodbye, Ground Floor" (6)

  1. Wherever it is He leads you… i have a feeling you’ll do rather well there ;-)

    Good luck for the next ‘step’ along the Path.

    Free advice? Stay open to opportunities that you meet along the way.

    <B

  2. Thank you for investing so much of yourself into the Michigan youth!These years were the days of “small beginnings”. It’s exciting to see how The Lord will use you going forward!

  3. Michael Haberlein said:

    Oh I’m so sad! Boo hooo hooo…

    FALSE.

    This means I get to have you all to myself.

  4. so…what’s these “different things” that are around the bend for you?

  5. Hey Andrew,

    You are one great guy! Thanks for all your hard work, care concern and DEDICATION! You like few know what its like to be a true Friend. If you are ever back home give me a call. I am in Long Island often!

Leave a Reply

